Also in 2014

  • Aug. 5, 2014, 3:26 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I need to wake up at 730 tomorrow to get around for work. That will be rough, it's almost 130. It was certainly inevitable, I did no preparations to adjust my sleep schedule.

I forgot a couple things related to the journey up here from Medford. We almost didn't make it to the apartment in time to get the key. We were supposed to leave on Wednesday the 22nd, but I slacked on packing and the roomies didn't show up until after 1, sans truck. I assumed we had to be at the apartment office by 6(when they close) to get the key, a hunch confirmed by a quick phone call. The roomies didn't really think about that, so that day was bunk. We didn't take off the next day until 1245, and the drive is normally at least 4 and a half hours. I was stressing a little the whole time. When we reached Corvallis, about 75 miles away from our destination, we became stuck in an hour long traffic jam. There was a vehicle fire and that apparently caused that much of a jam. I don't know the details, though I did see the burnt hunk of metal leftover from the fire as the jam finally let up. Hopefully whoever was in the vehicle got out in time. Anyway, that pushed us back. A desperate phone call bought us until 630, but it was still close. I drove like a maniac the rest of the way, which is not my usual style. I was close to where I needed to go when my phone and by proxy GPS died, so I was screwed. I had to stop at a Fred Meyer to buy a car charger. I was very upset, as the whole reason we left so late that day was because Chris slacked off constantly and did zero packing or preparing. We were going to have to wait an extra day, pay an extra 300 dollars for the truck for another day, and find some place to stay. I got to the complex and somehow, some way he made the drive with a Penske moving truck filled with our shit in under an hour. The office worker was literally getting in her car to leave when he arrived and managed to get the keys. It does not get any closer than that, what a stressful day.

I also seem to have developed some sort of resistance to being in a car. It started when I drove with one of the old roomies from Medford to Brookings on one of my last days before leaving. I had never been to the Oregon coast, nor had I ever flown a kite, and there was a kite flying festival at Brookings, perfect! The road there went through the Redwood Forest and was extremely windy. My motion sickness kicked in and I felt terrible by the end. The drive back was even worse. Since then, if I am a passenger in a car I tend to feel carsick, especially when Chris drives and does u-turns and other crazy things. It didn't happen before the Brookings trip. I don't know what happens exactly when I get sick or why it happens. I don't think it's vertigo or anything like that. I get dizzy and nauseous and get headaches. I had a severe case of it yesterday, even when I woke up that day, and it was worst while driving. I had to switch over driving to someone else, I almost got in an accident from being so out of it. I don't know what's wrong with me, but I don't have the money to find out right now, so I hope it goes away :P

That's it for now. No more procrastination, it's time for bed. Ugh.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.