Checking in... in Who I am...

  • Aug. 3, 2014, 10:50 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I've been remiss in logging in here. There is less activity on here than we saw in the old OD days, and it just slips my mind to check in.

So what has happened of late? Well, let's see...

My friend Alan in New York finally succumbed to his prostate cancer, just a few days after his 59th birthday. It had metastasized to his bones and brain, and the end was not a pretty one. He went blind, could barely put a few words together and was in uncontrollable pain. While I am a proponent of patients keeping a positive outlook, I don't think it's healthy when the line to self-delusion is crossed. Before he lost the ability to speak, we had a conversation and he slurred, "I'm going to get better." Time that could have been spent in pleasurable pursuits with loved ones was wasted on treatments that had no chance of success, and ultimately lowered his quality of life. The worst part, of course, was that it was a late-stage diagnosis, and would have been treatable had Alan not gone 25 years since his last check-up. So all the male readers here should take a lesson and make sure you get your annual physical

Lady Wife and I spent a week in San Francisco, and immensely enjoyed a private behind-the-scenes tour of the Monterey Bay Aquarium. The highlight for her was being able to bottle-feed orphaned sea otters. We sampled the food scene in the city, especially enjoying Cafe Claude, which offered nightly live jazz in addition to their wonderful French bistro fare. Strolling around, we also determined that California crazy is an entirely different flavor than anything you encounter in New York, Miami or Chicago. Their homeless/mental patients/weirdos are certainly unique. (Let's hope they stay there.)

Sophia, our 16-year-old Mini Schnauzer, is into her final days. Invasive cancer, and while she has remained pain-free, she is starting to lose interest in her food. Euthanasia is likely this coming week. That will leave Dingo, her 17-year-old terrier-mix buddy as the last remaining canine who made the move with us from NY to NC.

Shopping for a new airport commute vehicle, and really like the Cadillac XTS!

Lady Wife has a Cape Barren Goose (Cereopsis novaehollandiae) imprinted on her. His name is Sirio, after our favorite restaurateur, Sirio Maccioni. She is using him for education programs at the waterfowl park.

We'll be attending the 40th anniversary celebration at Le Cirque in New York with Sirio (the man, not the goose) on October 15th. As it is the New York Wine & Food Festival that week, we are also attending Tales of a Tuscan Butcher hosted by Dario Cecchini and Salted, Smoked and Cured: An Italian Specialty Foods Seminar hosted by Lou Di Palo and Anthony Giglio.

So much else, but those are the highlights.

And how are you?


Deleted user August 03, 2014

Saw this entry on the front page......my father in law....succumbed to metastatic prostate cancer on the 18th of November of last year..... my husband, my kids and myself spent as much time at the nursing home as possible (which was 2 hours away--so every weekend we were there and my husband was there some of the week as well), his last weeks were filled with love, patience and understanding from us....just straight out comfort and care. At the end, he was very sedate, sometimes seeing things due to pain killers and the fact that the cancer was in his bones and spinal column and possibly his brain....we don't know....he chose not to have any further treatments or tests done when we found out how far it had spread.

He also didn't tell anyone that he had been terminal for quite some time. It was a shock to us all though my husband and I knew he was not well. Last summer through to even today.... but mostly that last month...was one of the hardest for all of us. But the smile on his face when he'd see us.... was worth every tear....every penny spent on gas....

I think every male should get it checked often...it inspired us to quit smoking because I do not want to die that way...death by cancer is a terrible way to go....as it slowly starves your body of every calorie you take in...and unbearable barely treatable pain.....No....

Much luck to you and also...my most sincere condolences on the loss of your friend.

=bernard= August 03, 2014

Oh yeah, when I reached my 60th I started doing the bendover tango. Every 6 months like clockwork when my urologist tells me to drop my drawers I'm only too happy to comply. The fact that he's a hot burly dude has no influence on me what so ever.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.