A Major Non-Event in The Common Room

Revised: 08/01/2014 6:10 p.m.

  • Aug. 1, 2014, 3:02 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Having weathered a nasty sinus infection, discovered that I am now allergic to all antiboitics known to the western world, had my heart medicines changed yet again (engendering withdrawl from the former ones and "new medicine" side effects from the new one), I finally arrived at the point in time when my cardiologist decided that stopping and restarting my heart was the next thing to try. Many people live with atrial fibrulation (A-Fib) as the commercials for various meds often state on TV. Mine is vicious because one part of my heart is very strong and beating wildly and the other part is weak and barely beating. One chamber is in imminent danger of being ripped apart by the other. So-o-o-o

After 10 days of a particularly strong med, at 6:00 this morning, I was at hospital to have the stop/start thing tried for the second time (can't be tried three times.) You know the bit .... nothing to eat or drink for 12 hours, schlep to the hospital in the pre-dawn with no sleep, sign your life away and swear not to sue if they damage me (I always remind my family, aloud, as I sign the papers, that they aren't signing and can sue the pants off anyone they want. Makes the registeration clerks nervous.) Anyhoo, I get into the less than modest gown and they do a little heart monitor thingy, as the person who will start the IV and prep stands by.

Guess what!

No A-fib.

None.

A-fib two days ago at the cardiologist's office.

A-fib yesterday at the surgeon's office.

A-fib since last January, when I "died".

No A-fib now.

The cardiologist leaves off scribbing and comes to check. No A-fib. He says wait an hour. No A-fib. Wait another hour (between times, he is doing other people's procedures.) No A-fib.

He sent me home. No reason to stop the heart that has been regulated by the new medicine. What should I do to keep it from going out of rhythm again. Who knows? Take the medication.!

So. I'm a little happy, and a little relieved. I didn't REALLY want my heart stopped. On the other hand (because people are just plain perverse) I feel a little like someone who dressed up for a party and arrived to find an empty hall 'cause no one told me that the party had been canceled.

Mostly I feel apprehensive. Just waiting for the other shoe to drop.

Damn, I hate drama.


Last updated August 01, 2014


Deleted user August 01, 2014

Reading this had my own heart galloping. How terrifying this must've been for you! Gosh, I thought I had it bad lately. I hate drama, too. Hugs. :)

patrisha August 01, 2014

That is the nature of the damned A-fib beast. I haven't experienced this in person* but I watched Fred go through it. Before he died, he had been totally free of a-fib for about three years... And what new medication was he taking? Absolutely nothing different!

*. well, apparently I had a problem with it when I was having surgery in January but since I was not conscious at the time, I had no idea...

pb reader August 01, 2014

That's a happy turn of events. Hopefully you stay A-fib free.

ThoughtsAfter August 02, 2014

That is drama! I do hope this med keeps you A-fib free and you can save that second and third stop/start for years to come. You must be so tired of the stress of this part of your life--I bow to your tenacity and acceptance of all of this that is necessary now. Enjoy NO-A-FIB.

Silent Echo/Quiet Storm August 02, 2014

don't worry about it anymore. live life the best you can for as long as you can. enjoy every day you have and love everyone you need to. worrying won't help it. forget about it til/if it returns. don't let the shadow of it ruin your life worrying about it. take care,

MageB August 02, 2014

Yes, I hate, truly hate, medical dramas. You do sound great.

Ragdolls August 03, 2014

WOW, that's amazing! I absolutely love your "reminder" to your family while you sign those papers! I've got to remember that. Take care!!!

Eriu August 04, 2014

It's when I get really pumped and ready for something that it doesn't happen (like confrontations). You seem better. Yay! Take care of you!

I'm an Okking Fool August 04, 2014

I'm so glad the a fib went away! I hope it stays away! Though, if you do eventually end up needing to be cardioverted, my mom had to have it done about a 2 years ago and she said it really wasn't so bad.

ODSago October 17, 2014

Reading as Sago...I realized that you were friended beneath ThoughtsAfter book and not my everyday one as Sago. I do hope you are thriving now in mid-Oct.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.