*types title here...* in Not-So-Hum-Dingers

  • July 31, 2014, 9:05 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Things have been chuggin' along pretty awesomely for this husband/father/zipperhead/dishwasher.

I have continued to be ridiculously good at my job. Russ bought a couple of these microfiber sponges from Wal-Mart and it has greatly increased my already-awesome effectiveness. One side of the sponge is the same material as the microfiber dish-rag that I was using before (but had to stop because for some reason it let too much soap build up in the dishwasher shrugs) and the other side is the scouring material that's designed to clean stainless steel, and there is some spongey-but-not-easily-damaged material filling it out. What I love about it is that it's slightly bigger than a regular sponge but not as huge as the rag I used to use, and nothing builds up in the dishwasher to make it malfunction.

Kerry has moved on to a career as a dental assistant, her last day was last week. I think I worked her whole last day "knowing" it was her last day, but not really accepting it, but then as she was leaving that day she informed me again and I worked the rest of that day with a bit of a mournful spirit. We (Sezzie, Natey, Ashley, and I) took her out to dinner this past Tuesday as a sort of "going away" thing (even though she'll still be around plenty because she's my sister-from-another-mister and she would never be able to abandon Ashley). She's informed Laurie and Barb that she's very happy working in her new role and at her new workplace, so it's very much a case of if-she's-happy-then-I'm-happy-for-her.

Meredith still hasn't worked a full week, she called in yesterday with some excuse that her doctor switched her antibiotic. Jess came to me at the end of the day and informed me that Tuesday was a really good tip-day and that Meredith probably took all of that tip money and packed her gullet with a lot of booze. Meredith was there today, it wasn't a very busy day, but I kept myself busy by doing extra things (cleaning my walls, my sinks, the stainless steel surfaces where we keep bowls and various other sheet pans and cutting boards. I did not see her doing anything to keep herself occupied, but that could be because I was too focused on keeping myself busy.

We've still got the awesomeness that is a Natey staying with us. It's so much fun when we have Aussie visitors because we generally eat lunch together in the restaurant, and I like that change of pace from bringing my salad-and-soup up here. And dinner can mean cooking something here or going out if we feel like it. Plus Natey is basically a male version of Sezzie, and he feels very much like a brother to me, so I enjoy his presence. Aaaaand his being here makes a Sezzie very happy, and that makes me even more happy. It's all just a big bowl of happy.

Tomorrow is Friday! I love working hard because Fridays feel like Fridays, and weekends feel awesomely work-free.

I hope you're all doing ridiculously well.

big hugs


Puffing Troll August 01, 2014

Mmm, big bowl of happy :-) huggles o' squish

fluxity August 04, 2014

I admire that you continue to have such a positive attitude about your job! It's rare, in my experience. You're my favorite kind of coworker - the kind that follows "Time to lean? Time to clean!"

TellTaleHeart August 04, 2014

Hope you had a great weekend!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.