"HOW TO REVIVE MY ALREADY DEAD ROMANTIC SIDE" in "RESTLESS: POETICALLY-SPEAKING"

  • April 29, 2023, 9:42 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

No, she’s not just asleep.
She’s not even fainted.
Can’t you tell that she’s already dead?
It takes more than countless tries to shake her awake..
You can’t even make her snap out of it.

How long has it been
since the last monster scared her into hiding?
Fear and anger have somehow turned her faith in romance
frozen as a popsicle in the Antarctic.
Perhaps if she gets lucky,
something might come along
and melt it like it’s a global climate change.

So how to revive my already dead romantic side?
No, don’t use that defibrillator on me
by saying I should just move on
and give it another try.
No, not when you can’t even guarantee my safety.
Don’t ask me to hurry
as if it’s my debt to pay.

It’s not your call to bring her back to life.
I’m not even sure it’s still mine,
but I certainly know it has always been God’s …

R.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.