Possible *Slight* Reprieve? in These Foolish Things

  • April 26, 2023, 7:37 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Yesterday at our all-hands meeting it was announced that the whole company is WFH (or anywhere remote!) on Mondays starting this coming Monday. My guess is that things will get about 10% better not having to be in that stressful office environment one day out of five.

Other than that, it’s Wednesday morning! So far, the week has boiled down to:

  • Monday - probably the lowest day I’ve had so far at the company. There are SO many things I still don’t know (like every single best-seller or products that we’ve designed before), and I was royally REAMED for not knowing a group of products designed a year ago. I nearly cried in front of everyone, but held it together and then YESTERDAY (a whole freaking day later) the PD Director gave me the example that I needed the day before. It would have saved me a thousand internal tears. We are moving too fast for someone to show me an example of what I need in order to do my JOB?! Yep. That’s what it appears to be.
  • Tuesday - the day was a million times better (which still didn’t bring me out of my funk), but I still worked a 12 hour day with two of my four designers (third one couldn’t make the trip to the office this week and I’m interviewing for my fourth one). I did find out that I’m going to be working on a project with Irms from one of my old companies. Long story and I’ll flesh it out later but that could either be a major fantastic project or it could stress me out even further! So far, it’s stressing me out the way Chief Cutie wants me to tackle it.

    OK. Time to make the donuts. Let’s see what today brings.
    GS


  • sudare April 26, 2023

    I’ve learnt the expression, make the donuts. I learn new things every day. Thank you!

    Ginger Snap sudare ⋅ May 01, 2023

    Haha! I meant to send you this a few days ago when I read your note. THIS is what I'm talking about. This guy is ME at the beginning and the end of every day!!
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XyZtMfMWONI

    sudare Ginger Snap ⋅ May 03, 2023

    That’s funny. I’ve watched it three times. Thank you!

    Perpetually Plump April 26, 2023

    This is giving me flashbacks for when I worked for a software company that everything was moving so fast that nobody had time to sit down and show anybody how to do anything else. And they kept buying up other companies and merging bits and pieces and so no one understood why anything was done the way that it was. That place was a fucking wreck. And extremely stressful. I had three people under me, and they fired all three within a week of each other for gross incompetence. And So I'm the one standing there going okay, but who's going to do the work now? Because if I could do the work of four people... I hated every moment of that job. And then to make it worse, I got a boss in who thought he was going to show me what was what after I had put in my 2 weeks notice, and he tried to embarrass me in front of the entire finance department (open concept office). Instead I turned it around on him and didn't finish out my two weeks due to a hostile work environment. Mwahahahah. That company folded about 6 months after I quit. Which I had told everybody that it was going to, which obviously I knew because I was an accountant, but of course the CEO and CFO were on weekly calls singing a song of a different tune. What a fucking nightmare. I am hoping your job gets way better though and that things calm the fuck down.

    bobbi01 April 26, 2023

    A small win. Hopefully she will leave you alone on those days.

    Deleted user April 26, 2023

    Oh, fuck that place. Really. Getting reamed out? Not okay. And working a 12-hour day the next day is just teaching them that you will reward their abuse by working harder. Cancer is stress-responsive. Quiet quit and look elsewhere. This is only going to get worse.

    Jinn April 27, 2023

    Oi ! That is hard. They are slamming you . I hope somehow you get some respite from the stress.

    WhatDreamsMayCome April 28, 2023

    Sounds toxic.
    Wishing you well.

    .bob April 29, 2023

    If this company were making life-saving medical devices or developing vaccines I might understand this pace. This woman needs a reality check. Imagine how wonderful this place would be if people felt supported and appreciated in their roles. It would be a FUN place to work! What a waste.

    Serin May 01, 2023

    I'm not sure how much more I'd put up with this. I'm not sure I'd make it this far. I feel like I'd be getting mouthy.

    You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.