and land in 2014

  • April 6, 2014, midnight
  • |
  • Public

8:55pm

Well that's done.

Ck left the house about a half hour ago. And it wasn't the most horrible afternoon ever. ;-)

He actually showed up late. Like around 6 instead of 5. I should have known given his track record with time management. At least he sent me a text saying he'd have to push it back. Then apologized after I said I'd started without him.

When he finally showed up he sent me a text asking how to get into my house. haha! That was the best thing to read right before I went out to open the door.

Things didn't go exactly as planned. I mean I'd had these hopes of talking to him about all things. Why he was all sad and bummed out lately. I can see how maybe that wouldn't have been a good idea the first time we "hung out" outside of work, but that was my plan. Sitting alone with him in the backyard and talking.

But it turned into this awkward, mom's-right-there kinda thing. Ok, it wasn't that awkward, but still. It's slightly weird to have your mother sitting there while you're trying to have a conversation and make friends. Which is why I'd wanted to take him outside. Mom was in the kitchen though, making dinner, and he stopped to say hi to her and then asked if it was ok to sit at the counter. So we just kind of got stuck there. Sitting and talking. Drinking.

Well, I was drinking. I'd already had one before he got here and was working on my 2nd. Probably not a bad idea to be all relaxed like that. It kept me from worrying about every little detail.

I learned a lot about him. I swear he's not in his early twenties like he claims to be. He's gotta be in like his 40s, or something. He knows so many people. And so many things about this community. Like things I don't even know and I've been here my entire life. I thought he was this sheltered home-schooled kid. I have no idea how he knows so much about so much. Not sure whether to be impressed or weirded out. hah.

Also, I think he invited me to his parents house? I was giving him a hard time about it being his turn to cook us dinner next time. [He claims to make homemade bread/pasta/sauce/etc] Then he said we should go over to his parent's house sometime. They've got like a pizza oven and I don't know.

I've definitely put a lot of things out there. Like a lot of opportunities for him to pick up the phone some day and ask me to hang out. I kind of feel like I need to do that because he never will. But now he has my number and plenty of excuses, if he was paying attention.

Actually, he just sent me a text a bit ago. Thanking me for having him over and feeding him dinner. I said something about how I didn't know too many people who drink beer and could use a partner. He said he was always willing to have a couple but never gets asked and is "too shy to ask". Hmmm.....could have seen that one coming about a mile away. I told him he didn't need to be shy anymore and to let me know anytime.

Honestly I'm not a fan of putting all this work in. Normally I'm the shy quiet one who everyone has to bring out of her shell. But it's like the complete opposite with him. Suddenly I'm confident, and open, and willing to make all the moves. I don't exactly like that. It takes away from the whole idea of what a guy should be like [in my eyes. which are probably flawed from too much television and love stories. haha]. I guess I wouldn't put this much 'work' into it if I didn't know we'd make great friends. And also I could be totally lonely and in need of friends.

He might be leaving soon though and it's something I'd rather not think about. Hopefully he'll last through the summer. This has the potential to be a fun time. Who knows. I definitely think this has helped me jump past the insane obsessive thing I had going on there for a while. It was what I needed so I'm glad I took the leap.

Time for bed now. It's back to work in the morning and I probably shouldn't have had that third beer. I'm just going to be dehydrated when I get up. blah. It was all worth it though! =)

rose.
10:31pm


Last updated July 27, 2014


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.