Question about mental health drugs in These titles mean nothing.

  • April 25, 2023, 10:46 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I think there is a different term but that’s what comes to mind - what mind? - right now. Those of you who know what I mean will know what I mean. The kind you get with a prescription from a health provider, mental health generally.

Do the drugs make one more accepting of suggestion? Like when someone suggests maybe you could do something better, are you less likely to get angry? More likely to consider the suggestion and perhaps take action. Action that does not involve arms and ammo.... preferably.

OK, thank you. I’m asking for a friend.


Purple Dawn April 25, 2023

The drugs can work for a lot of people. I think it is a matter of trial and sometimes error to find the one that works best for someone. SSRI's are a drug of choice for a lot of Dr's and I know many people who have benefited from them :)
They usually start with a lower dose and work their way up to peak effectiveness.
Take care,

Deleted user April 25, 2023

I got on Prozac for depression, anxiety and suicidal ideation and agoraphobia. I feel it blocks some things that used to make me go into a tailspin. I don't feel a drug drug feeling in it. I have added meditation to it that that helps.

NorthernSeeker April 25, 2023

I take two anti-depressants and I still don't like it when people tell me I could do something better...especially if it is something I am doing gratis and they aren't doing it at all.

Jinn April 26, 2023

Antidepressants do not make you more suggestible but what they attempt to do is dull your response to emotion; you will still get irritated but not as much, you will still be sad but less so . They usually help with appetite and sleep . They also can have side effects ; hand tremors and sometimes other involuntary movements of the mouth or extremities , stomach discomfort, constipation , dry mouth, changes in blood pressure when going from sitting to standing, drowsiness, and weight gain. It’s good to be very well informed about them before you consider taking them. Some depression/ mood swings are caused by hormonal fluctuations , situations , or chemical changes in the brain. It’s good to see a therapist along with pharmaceutical assistance so eventually you can figure out exactly what the situation is.

Just Annie April 26, 2023

I've been on Lexapro for a week and a half, maybe two, so I'm an expert! Ha! There are so many different drugs, but I don't think any of them claim to make you more agreeable to suggestions. Which is okay. Some people make lousy suggestions. Katie described it as 'taking the edge off' and I think I'm beginning to feel it. I'm less anxious and less likely to take responsibility for something that I am not responsible for. I like that!

WhatDreamsMayCome April 29, 2023

Have your friend take more walks on your beautiful land. ;-)

noko May 01, 2023

I don't know the answer. Your friend can talk to their doctor. I do like the idea of more walks outside bathed in that amazing light you have there. I took them when Mr. Finch was sick and once before. They did soften my edges but I also felt they messed with my impulses to be creative.

Davidwise21 June 26, 2023

Board length: Longer boards are more stable and better for cruising, while shorter boards are more maneuverable and better for tricks and turns. best surf longboard

Austin541 August 13, 2023

Navigating a new country can be overwhelming, especially if you're focused on Moroccan Travel Coverage academic pursuits. Educational travel insurance often comes with 24/7 travel assistance services

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.