Graceless and Ugly..... in QUOTIDIEN

  • July 26, 2014, 5:37 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

An ambulance zips by my building, lights flashing, no siren. No tone goes out over the radio for medical emergency, but clearly, that's what we're looking at. My blood runs cold. Management is called to the docking bay of an important building - my company's on-site base. No more is shared for all officers to hear. Silence is not good in this instance. I think of two people, both on the security team, who often have me concerned. I Contact SOC, 'tell me this isn't one of our own', and am told to talk to my supervisors.

My heart won't stop thumping. I think this is what the onset of an anxiety attack must feel like. My mind replays my imagination's version of Dave's death. Who is next?

I am eventually told that it's a member of management. A person I love to laugh with. Knowing he got himself onto the gurney helps. Knowing he acted the same as his old self - helps. But the silence - the lights - a ghost ambulance, won't leave me be.

Our relief's last day was yesterday. I will miss C. She was one of a kind. One of our managers gave his notice. This is the guy that hired me. He is off to bigger and better things. He's leaving. Another supervisor, Mr. B., ...also leaving today.

Tomorrow, my dog goes to the breeder to be cared for while my daughter goes on vacation with some friends. I'm happy for her, but realize that.....I am lonely. And my son may have found a forever home for Beth. This last is a good thing for Beth. I no longer have the energy or means to give her the care and love she needs....and yet, she has tons to give to us.

Word of the day? Alone. So. Fucking. Lonely. And I wonder how people survive the emptiness.


Loki July 26, 2014

  • [huggles]
Noodlebugs! July 27, 2014

Oh...I didn't know you were thinking of rehoming Beth. That surprises me a little

MJ's Page Noodlebugs! ⋅ July 27, 2014

We can't find a place that'll let us have her. And with me working four 12s, and daughter in school, Beth would be crated for at least 10 daylight hours, and at night. Not a life for her. Add to that when the breeder wants to start breeding....

No matter how we turn it, Beth suffers. :*(

Ashley July 27, 2014

One day at a time. My husband died 16 years ago and it is still one day at a time sometimes.

middle age pearl July 27, 2014

Ups and downs and those straight stretches that help you get balance and stability. You're getting there and the straight stretches are getting a bit longer each time.

GypsyWynd July 28, 2014

I'm sorry you're thinking of finding Beth another home.

Deleted user November 16, 2014

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.