winning streak in 2014

  • March 30, 2014, 1 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

7:43pm

So, good news! My streak continues! I'm quite proud of it too. [I hope this won't come off as pure sarcasm and wit, because I really do think it's a great thing!]

The streak I'm talking about here is the fact that people end up getting engaged/married/long-term relationships after I let them down.

Examples: I text flirted with Kyle, denied his efforts, and he ended up with a girlfriend a couple months later who he's now married to. I'm pretty sure Coffeeguy has been with the same long-term girlfriend that he got right after we stopped talking. And the new addition to the list: Ben!

I mentioned several months ago that we re-connected on fb and he asked me to go out sometime. Of course, being the person I am, I totally avoided and ignored his message. It's still sitting there in my inbox without a response. In reality, I had no idea what to say. I didn't want to give him the same false hope that we'd gone through before. It really didn't seem like he was asking just to hang out as friends either.

Well about a day or two ago I was browsing fb and I saw a picture of him and his new girlfriend. I thought to myself, "they look so cute together. I bet those two will get married someday." And seconds later I scrolled down further through the list and discovered a tagged picture of a perfectly posed hand with a nice looking ring on it!

Now, it turns out the ring is a "promise ring" but she's moving in with him like this week. Could my instincts get any better?! I predicted that just by seeing the one picture of their faces smashed together to fit the frame. haha! I'm super happy for him too!

I always sorta feel bad when things don't work out the way they might hope. I'm not good at the dating just to date thing. I'll probably sit around here living my single life until I find the person I'm going to marry. Or I'll end up an old spinster with a bunch of animals. hah. But seriously. My guilt crushes me when I let someone down. I just can't see the point in leading them on. Or pretending I'm interested when I'm clearly not. It isn't fair to them or to me. So I'm happy they move on to something better and I'm even happier that they seem to end up with their forever loves.

Maybe I should turn this into a business? Professional heartbreaker? I'll let you fall for me and then I'll push you away and into someone else's arms! It'll be fun. For a small fee of course. I'm tired of doing this for free when I get nothing out of it. I mean, other than the small amount of satisfaction it brings me to know that I didn't ruin them for all of time. ha. [I think I give myself too much credit. lol]

Anyways. Can you all believe it's the end of March already?? I feel like this year just started and we're already three whole months in! Where the heck does the time go? I have too many plans for it to be moving this fast all the time.

Speaking of plans. We drove out to get groceries today since we won't have another day off for a while. On the way there we discussed potential plans for a road trip this summer. We have a meeting in June and we're thinking about traveling from there out to Arkansas to pick up some furniture Bob built me. It's been ready since last year but we haven't had the opportunity to drive out there with the truck.

It would be a really fun trip. Like the old days when we used to drive down into Texas every year. We were looking at the map [I know! people still use those things?!] to see which route we could take. It would be better if we didn't go through all the same states we've already seen a hundred times. We might swing up north and see where that'll lead us. With our goal of visiting all 50 states, I think we could knock out quite a few in this one trip. Depending on our available time-frame and all other unforeseen circumstances, of course. It's exciting just to think about and start planning though.

Plus I really want to hit Oregon at least once. Bj said I could go visit her and we'd hit the coast for a few days. That would be kinda beautiful. I still stare at all the pictures I took after my college graduation. All those sunrises, sunsets, and waves gorgeously decorating my bedroom walls. I'm sure I could add a few more.
Although I might have to invest in a new camera since mine seems to be growing miniature creatures in the lens.

It's not like I'm using my paychecks for anything else. Let's add new camera and at least 5 vacations to the list for this year. I am going to start taking advantage of every day that I'm not working. My main excuse has always been money and I know that that's not currently a problem [thank god]. I shouldn't have to loan any to my brother this year so it's all mine to spend how I please. Maybe I'll get a little selfish and make sure that I'm enjoying my time first. That sounds like something I need to do this year. At least this once.

The second most popular excuse in my book has always been that I'd like someone to do all these things with me. I'm in a good place though [haven't you heard ;) ] and I think I could manage most of them on my own. It's silly to wait around putting life off until you find someone to share it with. I'm just going to enjoy it and see where that leads. Who knows? I might run into a bunch of handsome strangers on the way =P

This is it, guys! Year two! in the beautiful new life series!

Stay tuned....[that is, if I survive the rest of this crazy season..heh..]

rose.
8:23pm


Last updated July 25, 2014


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.