soothing moments in 2014

  • March 29, 2014, 6 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

9:03pm

It's raining! And that's such a rare occurrence these days that it's even more exciting than usual!

We were pretty busy at work today. Got a lot of people out of our hold box, which is always nice because that'll leave room for walk-ins during the next couple of weeks. Plus it's like a weight lifted off of your shoulder every time one of those complicated projects leave the office. Huge sigh of relief and then you move on to the next one.

Tomorrow is probably our last day off for the next two weeks or so. I'm ready to go ahead and get it all over with. I just need to make sure to take advantage of the day tomorrow. I ran outside today and mowed the lawn right as it started sprinkling. I had originally planned on doing it on my day off but with the rain coming, and who knows how long it'll last, it's better to get it over with. Had I missed my chance it would have been huge by the time I got another break from work. So that was a first. Mowing the lawn in the rain! I'm sure my neighbors thought I was crazy. haha. Looks like I made it just in time though!

My other item on the agenda involved washing the car, but I see that that might not happen. Kind of pointless if it's just going to get dirty again right after I'm done. Plus you probably can't wash a car very well in the rain. Maybe I'll park it in the driveway and throw a bucket of soap on it. Instant wash! That might work!

I'd also like to make a banana bread at some point. I may have 'accidentally' let the bananas over ripen and now I have to do something with them. It would be a shame to let them go completely to waste. But we'll see how things go in the morning. I kinda just want to get everything clean, and picked up, and ready to last until my next day off. I don't want to waste this last one just sitting around doing nothing. That's what last Sunday was for.

Anyway, work was good today. This lady walked in about 10 minutes before we closed with a huge pot filled with different kinds of plants. She said it was for my mom and I. When we read the card it ended up being from Melissa. I'm not sure why she spent her money on that, but she's super sweet. It's beautiful and can join the rest of the plants that we've started collecting at the office. So nice of her too! To think about us and send it all in secret like that.

I ended up calling her later after we got home. Her aunt picked up at the house and said she was out at this "deer association" dinner thing. I guess her aunt was babysitting the boys. I called her cell phone but she didn't pick up so I left a funny message about how it wasn't my birthday but thanks for the gift and we'd put it in a special place. :-)

We'd actually driven by the fair grounds on our way home from church tonight. [sidenote: there was this guy there that looked almost like Jacob but seemed older and I can't place him. It's bugging me now. Especially after he stalled on his way out the door so I ended up very close to him. Then I noticed that he did the same thing when we got outside. Slowing down. Stalling. Getting super close to me. I don't know, but I want to find out who he was!] As we were coming down the street we saw a ton of vehicles in the parking lot. I told Mom that it must be a bunch of cowboys. There was no way that it was just a regular ol' party with that many trucks in the lot. Especially trucks with dirt all over them. I swear that's all that was in the entire parking lot. Big ol' pickups. And I have an eye for these things. Like a sixth sense for cowboys! haha.

As we were passing I spotted Ck's truck at the end of the lot and sorta mentioned it out loud because I was surprised to see it there. We joked about not being able to see him all dressed up. I at least gave him credit for sometimes wearing pants without holes in them though! hah.

When we got home I was reading through the paper and saw that it had to do with hunting, and deer, and guns. That all makes sense now. I definitely knew it had to be those cowboys. haha. And then it turns out that Melissa was there too. And maybe I thought about how she might be with Ck when she heard my call. But whatever. I won't get into that. ;)

I should start wandering over to these things. It seems like the kind of crowd I could get along with. I mean, if I start learning to talk about guns and killing things without cringing. haha. Maybe I'll work on that first.

Instead I'll just sit at home and drink my cinnamon whiskey. Listen to some tunes. Relax with this rain. And maybe ponder life, or something.

I want things to change but I can't seem to figure out how to go about producing those particular changes.

So I think that maybe closing my eyes right now is a bad choice. I can't exactly go to bed at 9:30 at night. That seems like way too early. But man it's so relaxing sitting here. A couple drinks in me [not that I'm feeling anything special, maybe just quiet inside], this music, and this soothing rain. It's like the perfect combination to put me in the perfect place. Not to mention the train I'm hearing in the background; one of my favorite sounds ever.

It doesn't get much better than this, I tell ya. Life is grand. It's beautiful and amazing. Even with all the ups and downs. I can't tell you enough about this great place I'm in. I don't ever want to forget it. And I don't ever want to leave it again.

Things are coming together for me. Finally. After all these years. Life is starting to make sense. And this is going to be such a good one. I swear. All the pieces are falling into place. This is what I've been waiting for!

rose.
9:37pm


Last updated July 25, 2014


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.