65 soon in TIME Flies and other Thoughts

  • April 22, 2023, 2:04 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I was talking to my Mom last week. I reminded her that I am going to be 65! on my Birthday. “HOW DID THIS HAPPEN SO SOON?” She said, well you think that is bad, “I’m going to be 90 on my next birthday (November).
We talked about age and the difference between how our bodies behave and our minds.
I know she is just a s shocked at being 90 this year as I was when I hit 60!

So when my husband was turning 65 last year it seems he called our health insurance and told them he would be 65 soon and now what. He got everything all squared away.

I figured I could do the same. When we called them they asked what my Medicare Number was. I didn’t have one. So, I went Online to the S.S. When you call them, it says the easiest way to apply for benefits is to do it Online, so I attempted. I didn’t get far because it told me I needed to contact them because I only have 1 credit of the at least 40 needed!
I was a stay-at-home Mom. I worked very briefly a couple of times.. before I had kids and after they were out of the house.
I knew that my Benefits would be from my husband but they couldn’t do that Online.

So, I called… On the Phone almost 3 hours only to get a nasty woman who threated to terminate the call if my husband said another word. (He was helping when I was going to stutter a word). She told me someone would call me and if not call back in 10 days. I really didn’t know why someone would be calling back in ten days and why they couldn’t enroll me then.

Guess I should not have waited until almost the last minute before my Birthday. This could take a while. I didn’t expect it to be difficult seeing at my husband got it taken care of quickly. Who knew?

10 days later I called again and 2 hours later I got a delightful and helpful woman who was explanatory about the process (things the 1st lady didn’t impart). She said there were no appointments available and that someone would call in a week to give me an appointment at the S.S. Office and if not call back. She was aware that I had called 10 days earlier.

One week past and no call so we went to closest the S.S. office 25 miles away. Had breakfast at I-Hop and then joined the line forming outside the S.S office for about 45 minutes. We were about the 10th person in line. 30 minutes after we got in the door we were called and told there were no appointments available, and someone would call me. The person did share that the following week were walk in appointments.

I gave then four days to call and we once again had breakfast at I-Hop and joined the forming line at the S.S. Office for a 30 minute wait, this time being 4th in the waiting line.
When we got in, we were called about 10 minutes later. Saw the same guy who told us that in about 30 minutes someone would call me to another room.
While we were waiting I got the phone call. I took it and walked outside. It was S.S.... I told her I was at the S.S. office (she was working from home).

Anyway, I was only going to apply for Medicare and we had planned to take the money benefits at 66.9 years. However, we learned that the difference in waiting would be less than 200. but that was the plan. Then when she said that with the B part we would have to pay that out of pocket we reconsidered talking everything. She explained this and that and really just taking it all is better after all. My husband said, “It’s up to you.”

So, I am all set.
I guess officially I am a Senior in a few weeks.


Last updated April 23, 2023


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.