Look at the river.... in These titles mean nothing.

  • April 21, 2023, 12:37 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

https://www.rotarylights.org/live-river-cam.html

If you can make it live you can see how fast the water is going by. The trees on the island are no longer on an island.

This has felt like a mild winter here. We didn’t get a lot of snow or very much cold temperatures. But the north comes and catches up with us.

Today’s five?
1. Made the bed - less reading material today but some - two New Yorkers, my crossword puzzle book, and Stephen Markley’s Ohio. I’m getting through Ohio and I’m loving it. It has a fair amount about the war in Iraq and Afghanistan. It’s a sin how that happened and how unless we were really close to it, it kind of just went by. My kids were a bit too old for that war. And of course the draft was gone so everyone who went was in some sense a volunteer. He relates those wars to the Civil War in which Ohio was a big player. Ohio is a lot like Iowa. We are farm states defined by rivers. This book is about young people growing up or dying before they get there. Lots of drugs, a certain amount of politics. A lot of family dynamics and small town life that I can pretty much totally understand. The author’s new book The Deluge is also super great. I recommend them both. The Deluge is bigger and more of a READ but Ohio is worthwhile, touching and educational.
2. Laundry again. Started a load, brought up and put away dry clothes, hung the newly washed stuff on the clothesline.
3. Took a bath and filled 5 gallon jugs with bathwater while contemplating Archimedes’displacement studies. At 8 lbs per gallon, how many gallons do I displace? More than 5 for sure. Washed my hair and later clipped the sides back and tried to encourage some bangs/trimmed same.
4. Scrambled myself two eggs with cheese. Also made a pot of super weak coffee and drank it in one of my Bonne Maman jars with sugarless cocoa = my new indulgence in the mocha latte direction.
5. My iPhone for Seniors book from the library showed up yesterday. It came from Scranton Iowa. I am in love with the tiny town libraries which have the books I ask for and send them to me kindly. Scranton has 500 people and the oldest water tower in Iowa, 9th oldest in the US. It has a very sweet wiki article. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scranton,_Iowa#Demographics
If you go to look. Scroll up and down get the whole article, for some reason I got demographics when I wanted the whole entry.

Here’s a pic of mine from last week. Details of what passes for life.

Have a good day, friends. Be good. Hopes for a good weekend for us all.


Jinn April 21, 2023

When I read your entries I get so homesick for the farm of my childhood . Your place is different but still. I miss those field, ponds, the forest , the barns and all the animals. I miss the small town atmosphere when I was a teen. Lots of nostalgia. :-)
Have a great weekend !

Just Annie April 22, 2023

I have Ohio on my reading list! Ohio did play a big part in the civil war, but unfortunately, with the number of confederate flags I see, one might think we didn't fight for the Union.

Rivercity April 23, 2023

Now, I'm thinking of how my experiences in Ohio (Oberlin, Cincinnati) are different from the Iowa (Iowa City, Pella) ones. Weather. Hills and open spaces. Different birds & trees. Election caucuses. Need to think more.

NorthernSeeker April 23, 2023

I love the farm photo. The ice cream truck is aging well. I trimmed my own bangs a couple of weeks ago and nobody noticed (my definition of success). Has there been any progress on purchasing a new vehicle?

Purple Dawn April 24, 2023

That's some high water.
I like the farmyard pic :)

noko April 27, 2023

The river is still moving a week later. Nice to have a thoughtful book to enjoy.

Serin April 27, 2023

Is the iPhone for seniors book helpful? I wonder what makes it for seniors.

woman in the moon Serin ⋅ April 27, 2023

I'm not spending enough time with it to know. I guess it's simpler? I had reasons for not getting a cell phone and they are still valid. I guess it's the trip that's making me think I need one. Travel in general makes me think I need one. Oh heck.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.