Chirpy Tuesday in Diary

  • July 22, 2014, 8:04 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Good Things

  • The scab on my knee has gone! All that's left is a pink patch of brand new skin. I can't explain how much of a relief it is to finally be able to bend my knee again. The scab on my chin is the only one that's left now. Annoying that it's the one on my face where everyone can see it, but at least the infection's gone and it's improving every day.

  • A coffee van turned up to work to promote himself and give out free samples, so I got a free hot chocolate. He ended up giving away about 12 cups of coffee; he's lucky he didn't come during the warehouse break time or he would have made himself bankrupt.

  • I've ordered a sim card for my work phone and discovered I can get a smart phone for about £50 to go with my monthly rolling £10 contract which gives me 500 minutes, 500 texts and 500mb of data. This is a lot cheaper than the contract on my personal phone so I'm definitely switching to a monthly contract once it's up.

What this means now is that, when the sim arrives, I will finally have a dedicated work phone number so I can start getting leaflets and business cards printed!

  • I had an email enquiry from a potential customer who contacted me through my website. I still haven't started advertising yet so she must have stumbled across it, which is good news!

  • Speaking of which, this month is a record month for my petsitting. I've earned 15% of what I'm taking home now, in my office job. And considering I'm also still working my full time job and haven't started advertising yet, this is pretty good going!

  • Chillifields on Saturday. We're just about spot on for six of the songs we're doing, but I just can not do the Florence and the Machine song Jay wants me to sing. I don't know why he keeps insisting that my voice is like hers, because it clearly isn't.

One of the events at Chillifields is a burger competition. All types of burgers are welcome; beef, pork, chicken, veggie etc. I was going to make my tuna fishcakes (which look like burgers so this is allowed) but Jay looked disgusted and said "You can't do that, it's just one step up from a veggie burger. It won't win." WELL WHAT'S WRONG WITH VEGGIE BURGERS?

Anyway, I think it was Erika who introduced me to tuna fishcakes at University and I love them. But they will get more points if they are complete with bread, garnish, sauce etc. I need some ideas. OK, the ingredients are:
Tuna
Egg for binding
Mayonnaise for moisture
Breadcrumbs for solidity
Chilli, mixed herbs and sunflower seeds for taste.

Can anyone think of a way to improve them and how to finish them off? What type of bread, garnish, sauce will be good?

I don't even know if there's a prize, it's just for a bit of fun :o)

I'm sure I had a list of bad points to post here as well but I can't remember them now. They can't have been that bad so I'll leave this as a positive entry :o)

28 working days remaining


Camdengirl July 22, 2014

I do salmon and sweetcorn with chilli fishcakes... Stuff that would go well with tuna would be asian salads, or maybe a sesame seed crust instead of breadcrumbs?

Bomb Shell Camdengirl ⋅ July 22, 2014

Thanks, that sounds good :o)

Babe In Toyland July 22, 2014

I thought maybe a bit of wasabi for a bit of flavour? Is there any way we can help bump up your website within search engines?

Bomb Shell Babe In Toyland ⋅ July 22, 2014

Yuck, I hate wasabi. But thanks anyway :op

Well Jay went on an SEO course a few months ago so I'm going to ask him how all that sort of thing works :o)

Babe In Toyland Bomb Shell ⋅ July 22, 2014

Anyway, you aren't going to be eating the burgers. :p I like wasabi and tuna, in sure I'm not alone. ;)

Babe In Toyland July 22, 2014

Sesame seeds and oil then? I love sesame oil, I put it in EVERYTHING.

Bomb Shell Babe In Toyland ⋅ July 22, 2014

You're the second person to mention sesame seeds so it seems to be a good idea, thanks :o)

bluesunshine July 22, 2014

maybe some lemon zest?

~Twinkle~ July 22, 2014

They sound yummy! Xx

Deleted user July 22, 2014

sesame would be good I presume.

mutedexposure July 22, 2014

You could add a touch of sweet pickle relish if you want a sweeter burger. You could also make it a tuna melt burger by putting cheese in the center that melts when it is cooked so when they take a bite it is cheesy tuna goodness.

I do salmon burgers which are pretty darn good. I like to mix a bread crumbs, red pepper flakes, honey, and Tabasco sauce with the salmon and then put a raspberry glaze on it while grilling. I bet tuna would be good like that too.

Bomb Shell mutedexposure ⋅ July 23, 2014

Yeah I've been looking up some recipes and found one with sweet potatoes and cheese in the middle, that sounds delicious.

I also like the sound of the honey and raspberry glaze. I have lots to think about now, thanks! :o)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.