all in stride in 2014

  • March 11, 2014, 11 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

1:55pm

So I guess someone somewhere might say that the good thing about my being sick this last week is that I have cut way back on my coffee/alcohol intake. Now that someone would definitely not be me, but somewhere someone is thinking that. ;-)

Up until this morning, when I had a half cup, I haven't had a sip of coffee since I got this nasty cold. I only had a shot of whiskey a few nights ago in desperation to get the cough to stop [not even that worked...I was very sad!]. There hasn't been a bug to hit me this hard in years. I'm still surprised it has considering how 'healthy' I was being and the fact that I was sick in January. Perhaps it was some leftover stuff. I was actually surprised I didn't go through a cough during that cycle. Cold's always seem to hit me the same way. Like I know how it's going to hit me and what symptoms I'll rotate through. So yeah, maybe this was the tail end of it that didn't hit me a couple months ago. Only it came back to finish me off with a vengeance. [Jerk!] But never fear, I shall prevail!!

I'm currently dealing with a neck that feels like it contains rocks and eyes that are so bloodshot I might as well be drunk. Shame I'm perfectly sober. Yesterday I had to go home in the middle of the afternoon to put eye drops in and take out my contacts. I thought maybe they were causing some harm so I left them out. Man was it weird to go back to work without my eyes. First I had to run back inside to grab my glasses because how was I going to drive if I couldn't see? haha. Then I didn't want to wear my glasses so I left them in the car and couldn't see a thing. Ended up having to ask my coworker if that was her next client sitting in the waiting area because I couldn't tell. Not like I could walk up to his face and squint to make sure he'd been helped. lol.

This morning I put in a bunch of drops and decided to wear my contacts. There's no way I could go through an entire day at work not being able to recognize the clients. I'd be super embarrassed and I'm building an excellent reputation for knowing everyone's name!

Melissa just came over with the boys to pick up some paperwork. I had to close out of this screen lest they decide to e-mail everyone on my list. haha. We've decided to nickname them the little tornadoes. Seriously. They're very touchy. Like need to grab everything and poke around my desk. Mostly I don't stop them either. I mean they walked in, said hi to my mom who was helping someone else, and then all of a sudden I was surrounded by them behind the desk. They drew some pretty neat pictures and I helped P learn how to spell "cat". Though I'm not sure he'll remember in an hour. hah.

She mentioned that they're being kicked off their ranch. They have until October to find a place, but there isn't a whole lot around here. Especially not with land for cattle. At least not some thing cheap. She told Mom they might consider moving to Montana, which would be horrible. I really like those kids a lot and would hate for them to be so far away. Even now we only see them every couple of months. Imagine if they were all the way out there? :-( Although I have always wanted to visit Montana I doubt they'll want me out there that often. Also she mentioned to me that CK had said he'd like to go with them wherever they go [maybe that's why he asked me about Oregon property yesterday? I always get the feeling he's trying to say more but doesn't continue the conversation (probably b/c me and my big mouth interrupt him)...]. She calls him her "eldest" child. haha. I can see that. She said whenever they look at places they always look for some where that could house them and CK/this other friend they know. It's very sweet of them to look after those guys like they do.

I can't imagine him not living around here. I mean we're just starting to get past this whole 'strictly business' situation. It would really hinder our progress if he was a gazillion miles away [I don't actually know how far it is to Montana, but I'm guessing a 'gazillion' is close.] On the other hand I guess running into him a few years from now would change most things. His age seems like it would be less of a factor. Even though he'd still be younger than I am, at least he'd be older. You know what I mean? That probably doesn't make sense...

Anyway, we'll see what the world has in store for every one. You just have to take it all in stride, right? One day at a time.

rose.
5:47pm


Last updated July 20, 2014


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.