Aaaaaaaggghhh! Google!! in Site Updates

  • Oct. 18, 2013, 12:27 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I've noticed some recent concern about Google indexing public site content.

(I, for one, welcome our not-so-new search overlords)

To address this concern, I've created a robots.txt file. My understanding is that Google and reputable search engines will honor this, and not index URLs that begin with:

  • /box/
  • /book/
  • /entry/
  • /search/

Basically, any URLs I could think of that may provide user-specific data in search results. So hopefully that solves it and puts people at ease. Obviously the effects won't be instantaneous; Google will have to crawl the site again and cycle out their current content. So we shall see.


Kate October 18, 2013

Alrighty then.

Deleted user October 18, 2013

May I tell you how thankful I am that Prosebox exists and that you care about it. Open Diary is so frustrating that I just can't take it anymore. I've established this prosebox - 90 Day Weight Loss Challenge - so my friends and I may write and share. I have a question, is it possible to change the email address associated with the account?

Deleted user October 18, 2013

90 Day Weight Loss Challenge = WildRose (one of the users)

Lepetit pumpkinesque October 18, 2013

You keep doing it :) I stopped posting at Od because it just got so frustrating to cross post

Deleted user October 18, 2013

You're like Jesus, you address our problems practically before we speak them. That might have been a bit of an overstatement. Bwahahahaha!

Camdengirl October 18, 2013

This was a concern to me so I'm amazed that you have sorted so fast - yeah, I know it'll take a couple of months to kick in, but that's pretty awesome!

LivingWaterCreek October 24, 2013

:) It is a nice thing to actually invite someone into your house these days. So many invaders. Thanks for this effort!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.