More snow and a cat in These titles mean nothing.

  • April 17, 2023, 10:53 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Sorry for forcing the snow on you. It’s quite a bit though. It of course won’t last long. Much will sink into the dry ground. It is pretty. And it’s funny how less oppressive snow is after the equinox when there is so much more daylight.

That is the one eyed cat that Jim named after Joan Didion’s daughter, Quintana Roo. She was Squintana Roo = the cat, not the daughter - we are cruel people. Not cruel in big ways, just cruel in small ways. I will take a more artful, closer up pic of her one of these days..... for the many who love cats.

=====

I watched a movie on youtube last night - “Genius”, made in 2016, based on A. Scott Berg’s biography of Maxwell Perkins. Perkins was Scribners’ big guy who is famous for ‘discovering’ and editing last century’s BIG ONES, namely Fitzgerald, Hemingway and Wolfe, but others too. This is mainly the story of Thomas Wolfe but the other appear too. Mainly Fitz who was such a sad man and such a problem to his friends. That’s a song lyric, isn’t it? (I just went looking for the song and found a bunch of good ones but not what I was looking for. When JIm shows up he might know.)

Wolfe wrote beyond giant books and the plot of the movie was a lot about the effort to pare them down to publishable lengths. He dies at the end, while still a young man. Jude Law plays him. I don’t think I’ve ever seen him. Did he play the Pop? Was he supposed to be attractive with his clothes off? I guess I need to look him up too.

Colin Firth played Perkins - he wore his hat all the time, he had a wife, six daughters and a ‘mansion’. There was a lot of train stations and NYC views and atmosphere from the 1930s and 40s. It is a fun movie to watch.

Nicole Kidman plans the “Jewess’ Aline Bernstein who supports Wolfe and ends up jealous of Perkins. There is a scene between her and Perkins’ wife that speaks volumes.

I could spend the rest of the day chasing down links. Suffice to say - I”m glad I got to see it.

=====

Okkkkk I’m guess I’m off to the the wizard, whatever wizard appeals to me today. I gotta figure out something to cook. I gotta make my bed. That’s important. Both things are important I guess.

See you all later.

Have a good day.

Happy April.

We gotta keep doing what we can with it.


gattaca April 17, 2023

The snow is beautiful by the way!
I could easily sit beside the fire with a cup of coffee, looking out the window at it all day.
We just have cactus, scorpions, and bad drivers here. 👋

Purple Dawn April 17, 2023

We're supposed to get a bit of snow too

NorthernSeeker April 17, 2023

Your snow is piling up...ugh. Good cat photo...candid. Colin Firth is a great actor. I've been to Quintana Roo, south of Cancun. We went to the ruins at Tulum and saw many very big iguanas.

Just Annie April 18, 2023

I'm glad it only spit snow here. Nothing on the ground. And since it's spring in Ohio, by Thursday it will be eighty degrees! Crazy weather!

Serin April 19, 2023

This is perfect snow. You can appreciate it without having to dress for it.

Hi kitty.

Jinn April 21, 2023

I saw that movie and liked it. I had to look up Wolfe and what he had written. How embarrassing …How did I not know about him?
Snow … Bring on Spring and warm weather !

woman in the moon Jinn ⋅ April 21, 2023

He had a sad life. I read his first book maybe when I was in highschool. I"m not sure anything else is readable. He needed an editor. That's a joke.

Jinn woman in the moon ⋅ April 21, 2023

Lol. His style of writing must have been appealing in those times . I am often amazed at what got published in the past and what gets published today sometimes.

noko April 23, 2023

I bet the cat is glad to be inside.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.