#8 in 2023

  • April 15, 2023, 5:43 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

It’s cold in my bedroom tonight. So I’m wearing a hoodie in bed. (Hood up.) The heat went off around 10 pm. The ‘silent alarm’ telling me to go to bed. But it was lovely this morning. I went for two walks today - they bookended my working hours. Listened to an audiobook both times. Does anyone else find audiobooks soothing? It was called Tribes by Seth Godin. Quite good but in a troubling hustle culture sort of way (e. g. he doesn’t see a problem with checking his work emails on his two-week summer holiday). I don’t subscribe to hustle culture overall, but I found the tribal and leadership concepts quite interesting.
I had prawn stir fry for dinner, had a bath, and started reading Hamnet by Maggie O’Farrell. Too early to call judgement. I’ve taken the TV out of my living room. I can’t with the mindless distraction. How long will this latest banishing last? All spring and summer hopefully. I’ll be drawn back in this winter. Temptations are odd things. They come in all shapes and sizes. Some human. Some non-human. Some delightful. Some nasty. Some harmless enough. Others leaving us little more than a deep-seated sense of self-disgust.


Last updated April 15, 2023


FragileGlass April 15, 2023

Why did your heat go off?

Dayle FragileGlass ⋅ April 16, 2023

It’s on a timer to turn off before bed.

FragileGlass Dayle ⋅ April 20, 2023

Ahh nice idea 💡

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.