Procrastinating in Thirty-Eight

  • April 15, 2023, 3:01 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

That’s what I’m currently doing here by writing this entry, even though i haven’t written in two months. blah. Things have just been slowly going downhill. But at the same time things are good. I’m just tired and ready for things to finally be good. but that’s going to take some time.

Randy applied again for his disability in February sometime, so with the backlog of stuff it’ll be like November or December before we actually hear anything I’m sure. This sucks balls. But at least there is something on the horizon I guess, whether it’s a denial or not. It’s something to expect in the near future.

If Randy gets his disability we will be more than set. They told us he is eligible for something like $940 a month, which would be amazing, and that would literally be all we need extra to survive. I get $1,003 a month right now and that all goes to our bills. If we had an extra $940 a month that would help us be able to afford shit.

Blah but we’ll see what happens when they finally get to his application. There’s over 1 million pending applications for SSDI as of March 2023, so we have a long wait ahead of us.

Randy is in AZ right now, he left on the 9th and will be back on the 22nd if he can stand his mother that long. I’m not even sure what happened but he was ready to come home yesterday because of something she said.

I guess his brother brought him a bunch of stuff from Ireland/Scotland from their honeymoon. They’re Scottish, so he brought him a bunch of stuff from there with their “clan” name and whatnot, so that was cool. But his mother had something to say about it because there wasn’t any representation for her last name (also Scottish) and apparently she made some rude remarks to Randy about his dad and their last name, etc. Like I said, I have no idea what she actually told him, but he was pretty upset about it.

But it looks like he will be staying until the 22nd, so yeah. I’ve been working on things here and there with the house. I have the living room cleared out, just the boxes and shit on the couch. But those are things I need to put in the shed, so I’ll get to that this weekend. Then I need to figure out how to clean the couch.

Josie is the groomer of the group of cats lol. She will dig into Kate’s ears and lick them clean, or just lick her face and whatnot, but then she ends up with hairballs or just getting sick from it, so she has puked all over the dang couch. I need a better steam cleaner. I have a little spot bot, but I’m not sure if it’ll work for the couch. I need one with a want. They’re $100 at walmart. blah.

So yeah, there’s that. Then the kitchen is going to be the biggest task. I HATE cleaning the kitchen. I will vacuum all day rather than clean the kitchen. but I have no clean plates or really clean anything so I’ve just been washing things here and there as I need them. No wonder no one wants my food right? I understand it. I just gotta get my butt in gear.

I woke up feeling so sick this morning though. I woke up several times throughout the night with a burning pain in my right side that went to my back and into my stomach area. It was so uncomfortable, but I was so tired, that I just sat up and let it pass before laying right back down. What next?

We will probably be without gas or electricity in the next few weeks because I couldn’t afford to pay those two bills this month, so hopefully I can pay this months bill on the 3rd and not have my shit shut off. Le sigh. I hate this shit. But until something else happens, then we’re stuck living off $15 a month.

What else has happened. I finally saw the new rheumatologist in El Paso on the 22nd of March. They just put me right back on the plaquenil and imuran. I’m still waiting for the actemra to be approved, but I have a telemed appointment on the 19th to go over bloodwork and see where we’re at, and then hopefully shortly after that, I’ll get the actemra approval. I’m hoping I can get the infusion here at Gila Regional (the hospital) otherwise I’ll have to travel 2 hours to get it every 28 days. That would suck balls, but I’ll do whatever it is I need to do I guess.

It’s so frustrating having to deal with that kind of stuff. There is an infusion clinic here, like I said, at the hospital, but they said they haven’t had luck getting it prescribed at another location, so I’ll most likely have to travel down there every month.

It is only 2 hours away, previously I would have had to travel 3 hours to Tucson, but at least there I could have stayed with someone (like MIL) overnight. But I don’t know many people in EP, so that would not work. And obviously can’t afford a hotel. My insurance doesn’t offer anything for travel expenses, even gas reimbursement or transportation. If they offered transport, it wouldn’t be a problem, because then I could just have someone take me down there every month. UGHGHGHGHGHGHGH

I was finally able to get my car titled, insured and registered in my name. So now I own a car. We paid it off last year, but hadn’t had the money to do all that. We didn’t this time, but the registration expired in March, so we had to get it done. And we were also driving around uninsured since July. So yeah, got all that sorted. I tried going through Geico to get insurance but with Randy’s accidents, and tickets and all that, they didn’t want to insure us. So I went with Progressive. Worked out. I couldn’t get my NM License because since I’m already in their system, with my maiden name, they needed to see a marriage certificate in order to change me over lol. FML.

In other news, we lost Rizzo on April 11th. Most of you that are on my FB know this already. I had to take him to be put to sleep. He had developed hind leg degeneration (pretty common in male rats, especially larger ones), and also a couple of tumors had popped up on him. He was still very strong, could move himself around the bottom of the cage, but I could tell he was tired. I found him buried in the pine one day and he was like clawing at me to help him get out. That was pretty much the last straw.

I let Randy have the time with him he needed before he left to AZ, so I took him on Tuesday the 11th, to be put to sleep. He’s currently in the freezer so Randy can see him before we bury him when he gets back. Don’t worry, he’s wrapped in fleece and double bagged in a gallon size ziplock bag.

That and my freezer is nearly empty. I have had to come up with surprise meals over the last week. I should get my food money on Monday, but I got a letter last week saying there was a delay in processing my application (renewal) and I haven’t received anything else so far, so I’m not entirely sure whats going on. If I don’t get my food money on Monday, I’ll be going down to the office to see what the heck is going on. I need to buy food!

Hrms, so yeah I don’t really know what else is going on. I’m just puttering around here trying to get as much done as I can before Randy comes back. I have a whole other week so I can still pace myself. I don’t want to overdo it. I kinda did on Tuesday. I took Rizzo in the morning, let the boys see him before I put him away, and also got hand, feet, tail and nose prints on the back of a canvas so I can paint him. I have one that I did for Fievel too.

Uhmmmm yeah, so that’s about it I guess. Everyone else is doing good. The remaining 7 rats are still kind of sad right now. They’ve been keeping to themselves and I’ve been spoiling them with some yogurt and tasty treats. Hopefully soon they will be back to their lively selves. They are without a leader at the moment, because that’s what Rizzo was. So yea, they gotta figure that out. or they won’t at all. We will see.

Dice and Poker are doing well, also. Being bums as usual lol. The cats are good too.

Don’t have much else to say, so I will leave it here. Hope you all have a good weekend. Take care!


Asenath Waite April 16, 2023

80% of all SSI and SSDI approvals are approved by an administrative law judge, on the third appeal. As was mine. He'll need a lawyer. By law, they take 25% of your back pay, but even so, after two and a half years if appeals, I got nearly $13k.

Just hang in there.

Stephably Asenath Waite ⋅ April 17, 2023

He has a company working for him to do all the paperwork etc. I used one and even though it took 32 months and two hearings, I was able to collect 26 months of back pay and even with the 25%, I still got over $14k. Hopefully they will go all the way back to when he applied in 2019, but we will be grateful for anything at this point.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.