Saturday in These titles mean nothing.

  • April 15, 2023, 11:02 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Slightly fuzzy. Forgive me Mr. Jobs.

I think I’m gaining my lost weight back. I hate myself for that.

I wonder how many ways there are to self-dis. Many no doubt. I wonder why we either behave badly or recognize our bad behavior. Would a couple U’s help? Probably not. We have to be who we are and where we are.

I started Stephen Markley’s Ohio. So far it seems to be about ex-high school football players on drugs. Could be like Rabbit Angstrom, but of course the time period is different. Ohio is a lot more recent. Local library had it and it had been read maybe a dozen times. Do you ever wonder who the people were who read books before you? In a town the size of mine, I would know most of them. The library’s book club which I’ve never attended allows anyone to talk about any book, so I might find some of the readers of books I’ve read there.
The books store in LaCrosse has a similar book club, but the one in town is closer.

Jim is shopping for a car. He found one on Craigslist but it has serious buyers already. We bought the Buick from Craigslist and it’s been a pretty good car except for its deer magnetism. I paid for the Buick so I’m expected to pay for its replacement.... with limited input into what the replacement is. Oh well. We bought a car from a man with one arm before my husband died. He was very kind to us and I’ve always wanted to buy another car from him. Oh heck. Besides fixing the current car will be less expensive than buying an anywhere decent replacement - you know???

Give me some car buying advice, if you want to.

I see my daffydowndillies are in bloom. I should go out and photo them.

Love to all, happy weekend too.


thesunnyabyss April 15, 2023

'Self-dis' what a good way to put it.

WhatDreamsMayCome April 15, 2023

It is a great thought experiment to consider who has read a previous library book.

WhatDreamsMayCome April 15, 2023

Love the picture

Just Annie April 16, 2023

I do wonder who reads the same books I do. I'll have to add Ohio to my reading list.

No car buying advice from me, I'm afraid, but I hope it goes well for you.

gattaca April 16, 2023

I wonder how many ways there are to self-dis.
Oh, I have found a great many ways. :-)

Car advice: I can offer only my own experience - my 2015 Nissan Versa. Nothing much to look at but she is hardy, intrepid and reliable. I hope to get 300K miles from her.

NorthernSeeker April 16, 2023

I like the sound of your current book, "Ohio". It is a shame you don't get to make the decision on the vehicle when you are paying for it. My advice would be to feel something about the car you are buying.

woman in the moon NorthernSeeker ⋅ April 16, 2023

Oh I might have exaggerated. But not by much.

NorthernSeeker April 16, 2023

Oh, the announcers were talking about Bo's baseball history and they mentioned he played in Lansing. Didn't call him a Lugnut though.

woman in the moon NorthernSeeker ⋅ April 16, 2023

Lugnut is the best sports team name ever.

Serin April 18, 2023

My family was all GM for much of my life, but I got a used hyundai and I've been very happy with it. I'm not sure I have a lot of car advice. Except to be willing to walk away if you at all can.

And yeah, in general, it's hard to get as reliable a new car as a repair. But it's still frustrating to keep on repairing and repairing.

noko April 20, 2023

I heard someone say they bought a new car recently because they couldn't find any decent used ones. She says they needed a Google password to drive it off the lot. I wonder if there are as many ways to employ self-compassion as to self-dis. It's worth a try.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.