Same old, same old. in A small but passable life.

  • April 16, 2023, 2:55 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

It’s been six weeks since I’ve scribbled in here. What’s new? What isn’t?

I found two new books by two favorite authors at the library. John Irving and Margaret Atwood.

The last trip to the weed store I found a half ounce of “Grapechata” at 22% THC for $35. I’d heard that the price of legal weed is dropping everywhere, but I never thought it would drop that far. I should have bought an additional half ounce, but since that half ounce will last me months I decided to wait.

Grocery deliveries are now costing at least $10 per delivery through Instacart with the “service fee” and the driver tip. I may start scootering to the store. I may be able to manage that if I go every week for a gallon of milk and a weeks worth of grub.

And I did have 102 4X6 prints made thru Walgreen’s at .38 cents apiece of the accumulated pictures Daughter had sent me of the Grandson Rowan. Only about $50. Delivered.

And I went to America’s Best and got an eye exam and two pairs of glasses for $99.

My Medicare card came in the mail yesterday. There was also a separate letter with a form to apply to the state for assistance in paying the $164 per month premium if you are poor.

I’ve set the Starlink (Hal 9000) to “sleep” between 1am and 7am, to conserve power. I was up at 6am to work on the grocery order. I couldn’t figure out how to turn it on so I had to wait until 7am. Also, the increase by $10 of the monthly fee hasn’t happened yet. It’s been a couple of months since they mentioned that.

The price of empty lots here in the park has more than doubled in the last couple of years, from 30k to $64,900. That is definitely encouraging. I called my sis-in-law and told her that our “investment” is doing just fine. Where else can you stash money at more than 100% interest?

Anyway, with the SS and now the Medicare I’m starting to feel more “retired”.


Jinn April 16, 2023

:-) Enjoy both. Inflation here kills that for us . The government says it’s subsiding but I do not notice any improvement yet. We are just fortunate my husband has not retired.
I like Margaret Atwood too .

woman in the moon April 16, 2023 (edited April 16, 2023)

Edited

Which Atwood and Irving books do you have? Both are great writers. I've sorta moved on from them but I have kind memories of their earlier work.

Ah, money. How complicated is life? Pretty complicated. How far are you from groceries? Is there a co-op bus or weekly get together to shop group in your 'park'? Someone with a car should start one. How is the place for 'friends'? ie helpfulness? I would think you'd have a lot of 'tradeable' skills.

Neogy Titwhistle woman in the moon ⋅ April 16, 2023

The new Atwood is titled "Old Babes in the Wood", a little book (253 pages) of short stories, some of which were previously published in The New Yorker and The New York Times. The Irving book is titled "The Last Chairlift" a novel of nearly 900 pages. I'm only five miles from my grocery store, thus the reason I bought the scooter as it's too far to walk. I could probably catch a ride or Uber to the store, but that would just add complications to the process.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.