Music and Imagination in Days of My Destiny

  • July 15, 2014, 9:51 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Am listening to the music I have on my iPod on shuffle. Here are some of the songs...

Sunshine Road - Owen Campbell

Before the Dive - St. Lucia

Down with the Trumpets - Rizzle Kicks

Gold Lion - Yeah Yeah Yeahs

Hero - Mariah Carey

Min Khatrat - Tim Sparks

Moves Like Jagger - Maroon 5

Naïve Bravado - Urthboy

Not Giving In - Rudimental

SexyBack - Justin Timberlake

Tubthumping - Chumbawamba

U Can't Touch This - MC Hammer

Be Strong - Sizzla

Sleep - Allen Stone

Amari Szi Amari - Csokolom (a song I Shazamed once while watching a movie with subtitles lol)

Feel Good Inc. - Gorillaz

I danced while hanging the washing, haha. I let my thoughts go silly and I imagined what would happen if someone showed up just then and saw me with my wiggling bum and earphones plugged in, lol. Then I pretended I was in a movie. A movie about a stay-at-home mum, HA. HA. HA. I wander what on earth a movie would be about if it was about a mum. Well really, it could include a THOUSAND things. A thousand mundane things, but also a thousand heart-string-pulling things. Because life HAPPENS around motherhood, doesn't it. I know a mum who is juggling her sick parents, her terminally ill husband AND two small children who won't remember him once he goes. That'd be so terribly difficult..... and then there's friendship. The way friendships evolve and strengthen. There's relationships - after all, isn't that what motherhood is mainly about?

I sang my heart out to Mariah Carey while chopping down some overgrown branches outside (which is about where my gardening skills end, lol). I sang my heart out but could barely hear myself, the volume was turned up that loud. I was singing it to myself, as a reminder that I am my own hero, that I can carry on even when life out here seems dull and uninteresting and I feel small with these people and I have an urge to say it all out loud and leave. Then Gold Lion by the Yeah Yeah Yeahs came on. Sometimes when I'm feeling angry or rebellious or determined, I like the bratty voice. Other times when I'm feeling vulnerable or in need of TLC, I can't bear the brashness. But today, while chopping down branches, I imagined I was in a music video (does anyone even say that word anymore? Are they called something else now? Lol), chopping down these trees all gangsta-like, and then walking off with my sharp tools, one in each hand as though they were guns. Then I picked up the pile of branches with a gangsta face and ran around and THREW THOSE THINGS on the ground! And walked off in victory. Hahahaha.

Clearly it's a kid-free day today, lol.. A day where I get to be the kid!!!

Caramel-filled chocolate squares and a warm cup of tea.

Dancing.

Music.

Imagination.

......and then study. When the internet works. (suchasnow)


Deleted user July 17, 2014

Ohhhhh what a lovely freedom-filled day that was !!!!!!!!!! NICE. And so well-deserved :)

I don't know any of those songs. Except about 5 of them lol.

I still say music videos lol. But I think the word has just been shortened and colloquialised as "music vid" or just "vids"??? Not sure.

I call DVD's videos hahahaha.

colour of water July 23, 2014

Lol VIDEOS!!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.