SpringTIME!!! in These titles mean nothing.

  • April 13, 2023, 6:11 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

This pic could have used a little zoom and cropping both.

The lovely woman at the library showed me how to zoom. The cam doesn’t have a LOT of zoom - I suppose the quality of the image allows one to crop the photo rather than zoom it. I will work at it.

We were going to download an app or two but I didn’t seem to have the right password to do it. Since I wanted to do Wisconsin Public Radio’s app, she said I might find a fair amount of what I want on podcasts. I will investigate.

Hey I got a question for you. What’s the best compliment you’ve ever gotten? Perhaps the best three or four?

I’m reminded by the comments on the the last entry rating my appearance against that of the cat. I appreciate your responses. The cat was kinda thrilled as well.

Two compliments I can think of right now -

Years ago - in the early 1990s - my husband and I drove our new Ford F-250 to Winona MN on a weekend afternoon. The truck was the only new vehicle we ever bought and it was expensive and it was new, so there was that glow - even though it didn’t turn out to be a really good purchase . We kept it forever ------ until it got rusty and had a lot wrong with it. But that day it was in its new vehicle bloom. Winona has a couple of colleges and a group of students had a fund raiser going in which they washed your car So we let them wash the truck. Turned out it was boys doing the business part of the enterprise and girls doing the work and the truck was too big for them to reach. But they tried.

https://www.carfax.com/vehicle/1FTHX25GXLKA63163

Later we drove through the town and came across a yard sale. For some odd reason I wanted to stop..... books, perhaps? I don’t remember what I bought but I must have bought something because when I paid for it, the man taking the money said he loved my hair. It was long and gray at the time and probably clean, but it was a lovely compliment.

The other compliment came not long ago from son Jim. I should have him here to get the words right though I’m not sure he would have known what he said.
It was something like he learned from me the importance of words and of choosing the right ones.

I met one of the kids’ old high school teachers in the grocery store parking lot today. We talked about life a while. He’s glad he was a teacher. He taught art in our high school and then later in the not too far away community college. He asked about my husband’s family. People like to figure out how the various branches are related. We stood by Joana’s truck and I explained in such a way that I doubt he understood. We talked about our kids. He said he remembered my kids, but I wonder if teachers ever do. Remember kids.

Anyway.

See you later.

I’m cooking hamburgers for supper. With cheese on top. Cheeseburgers, one might say.

Have a good day, a good night, a good tomorrow and a good weekend. Time is moving by.

There is a bumble bee in the bottom crocus.


Last updated April 13, 2023


Jinn April 14, 2023

I am sure I have gotten compliments but none come immediately to mind. :-)
I love Spring and the start of all the flowers .Nice photos !

Just Annie April 14, 2023

Nice photos! I'm glad to see signs of spring.

Florentine April 14, 2023

I don't know if this counts, but I always remember the time I was about 15 and on the girls soccer team at my high school. One afternoon, we had to share the field with the boys team because a portion of their field flooded.

The boys soccer coach kicked an errant ball and it sailed toward me. Flawlessly, I let it drop in front of me, controlled it with my foot, and sent it arching back to him. In that moment, I saw the surprise and impression I made on that man. It was one of the first times I remember understanding that a man expected less of me and I proved him wrong, wordlessly.

So while he didn't give me a compliment, per se, I have always remembered his reaction and the powerful feeling of exceeding others preconceived expectations of me.

woman in the moon Florentine ⋅ April 14, 2023

Good for you.

Nice hearing from you. It's been a long time.

Purple Dawn April 14, 2023

Beautiful bright pops of colour :)

NorthernSeeker April 14, 2023 (edited April 14, 2023)

Edited

I can recognize the crocuses on the bottom (6 petals) but what are the ones at the top with 9 petals? Are they crocuses too? Teachers do remember kids, most of them fondly.

Fabulous photos! Keep them coming.

Serin April 17, 2023

I saw a video about someone who rescued a wingless bumblebee and I thought having a bumblebee friend would be so amazing until I discovered that they live about a year. I think I can bear that more when they're wild things, like storms and penguins.

The best compliment I ever got was "Your dad is the nicest person, and you're growing to be just like him"

woman in the moon Serin ⋅ April 17, 2023

That is a lovely compliment. We are like our parents/our children are like us. Always a compliment unless one of us is on death row.

woman in the moon Serin ⋅ April 17, 2023

You wonder about the consciousness of animals. They have to have awareness to live their lives. And what do they think about all winter. Or even on days when a foot of snow falls in April.
This is such a great unfathomable creation.

noko April 20, 2023

I read a poem to my students this morning called "What the Dog Perhaps Hears" all about how other animals experience the world in ways we can barely imagine. I was thinking looking at this picture and the ones you have posted already that you have an artist's eye. There are few people who post pictures that I would say that about and I hope you take it as the compliment it is meant to be. I thought it before I saw the question about compliments.

woman in the moon noko ⋅ April 20, 2023

Ah thanks. I"m always glad you read and note me. We have been together a long time. We think alike in lots of ways.

woman in the moon noko ⋅ April 21, 2023

Great poem. To think of what we do not sense. A lot.
A woman at my old old old job would say her husband would say that he didn't need a dog because she could hear so well. She's the woman who when called to the office to pick up a bouquet of flowers from that husband walked out wondering what piece of machinery he had bought now.
They weren't very fancy people. I didn't even like them - I knew the husband too - but they had color. Both are dead now. So if I don't remember, who does?

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.