Old image - just for entertainment in These titles mean nothing.

  • April 9, 2023, 6:13 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Well, my life’s been kind of busy. Not in a good or bad way. Not totally for sure. More of a patchwork - but let me tell you.

  • The Buick hit a deer on the way home from a pizza run one evening last week. Fairly serious damage to the right front corner. Can be fixed but would cost a lot. We are still up in the air about what we will do. I drove Joana’s truck to town yesterday. It’s smaller than the ICT and more manageable.

  • Will and John came down yesterday and stayed till today. Will and I went for two long and interesting walks through parts of this farm and beyond that he hadn’t been to before. Hans came along. Today we drove Joana’s truck through the big creek, then dismounted and explored the clearing, the deer blind, the empty pond and Ole’s rock on foot. Yesterday we went hiked the silo field and down to the next road east and crossed the bridge and threw rocks in the water. We discussed Gatsby, crops and history. We went through a bunch of fences and across several creeks.

  • Will and his dad tossed a football back and forth in the lawn toward the barn. They both look good. John worked with Jim a bit on the cattle handling improvements in the barnyard. We had French toast and bacon for breakfast today. The four of us went to the US Cellular office yesterday to hook up my phone on Jim’s account. I’m happy to have a camera again and I hope/plan to get better at it. We Facetimed with Katie and Deb where ever they were.

Culture-y stuff?

I watched two movies on youtube one night last week.

  • “The Nun’s Story” from 1959 - Audrey Hepburn as a Belgian nun who wants to be a nurse in the Congo. It’s a beautiful movie - reminded me of my nun-ly ambitions.
  • “Island in the Sun” from 1957 had a string of actors, Harry Belafonte, Joan Fontaine, James Mason, Dorothy Dandridge and Joan Collins in a story from an Alec Waugh story set on a Caribbien island. Funny thing is I went to see that when I was in high school. It features interracial romances and I remember being confused as to who was who and why. Watching it last week I was confused too but managed to concentrate and get it pretty much figured out.

I’ve been partially and totally reading some books lately.

  • Partly - The Deluge by Stephen Markley is a monster of a novel about climate change. I’ve seen the author interviewed on YouTube several times, left a link to one of the interviews a few entries back. I like him -= you know how I am about authors (and men). I really recommend the book. He thinks we can do things to control the future - he semi=surprisingly has good things to say about the recent [climate legislation].
    (https://www.nature.org/en-us/newsroom/us-house-passes-landmark-climate-bill/) He’s an Iowa Writers Workshop grad and has written an earlier book Ohio that I want to track down.
  • The Perfume Burned His Eyes by Sopranos actor Michael Imperioli was short and decent. It had Lou Reed in it.
  • Someone in Jim’s internet life recommended “Restoration Heights by a guy with a lot of vowels in his name - Wil Medearis. It’s mystery/thriller set in NY city’s art culture and it’s good. I stayed up all of one night reading it - it kept me away from youtube even.

I guess that’s about all. For now, anyway.

Blessings again, on you all. Have a good week. Spring is really almost here. I’m seriously thinking of finding a shovel to dig up some dirt.


Last updated April 09, 2023


Jinn April 09, 2023

Happy Easter ! How lovely to have your guys visit and get to explore the farm.. sounds wonderful to me .
I read the book “ The Nun’s story “ by Kathryn Hulme years ago . In fact I still have that paperback :-) .

NorthernSeeker April 09, 2023

Nice photo even if it is an older one. A graciespeople video popped up on youtube this morning...the one where Jim is trying to pull the milk jug away from her. You have a lot of variety happening in your life this week, a good busy week and not a bad one. The walk with Will sounds really pleasant.

woman in the moon NorthernSeeker ⋅ April 10, 2023

Nice to know Gracie has that bit of immortality.

Just Annie April 10, 2023

Glad nobody was hurt by the accident with the deer!

Walking and talking with my grandchildren is one of my favorite things to do. Gives me hope for the world.

Purple Dawn April 10, 2023

Sounds like a good time with your Grandson 😀

noko April 15, 2023

The time with your grandson and grand dog sounds good.

Serin April 15, 2023

Hope the buick is the only victim other than the deer.

nikelog850 December 19, 2023

In the realm of just-for-entertainment content, the digital landscape offers a kaleidoscope of options to unwind and escape daily stresses. From binge-worthy TV shows to hilarious memes, the internet is a treasure trove of amusement. Social media platforms, streaming services, and gaming apps cater to diverse tastes, providing a virtual playground for relaxation. Amid the vast sea of content, one might stumble upon a happiness blog offering doses of joy and positivity. These digital havens showcase the transformative power of laughter and leisure, serving as delightful respites in our fast-paced lives.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.