Property Update #2- Restrictions in Tennessee

  • April 7, 2023, 4:34 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Just when bestie and I think we have found a piece of land that works, and our realtor gets involved…. There’s some kind of fuckery that comes up.

The latest most annoying circus show is that we drove 40 minutes to see a plot of land…. It was weirdly laid out but the surroundings were gorgeous. It was half cleared half forestry. But the plot was way off the road so that no one could see us. We would have had to create a long gravel road. We would have needed a golf cart to go get the mail. I found out it could be covered under mortgage so that’s no big deal.

Thing with this one is the seller and sellers realtor had the fucking audacity to put in the description that there were no restrictions. And spent a bunch of time with a robust description talking about all you can do with the land. Then OUR realtor does the work to pull up the deed and what do we see? Restrictions. If I was that seller, I would fire their realtor on the spot.

HOW DARE THEY get my hopes up only to be told that I cant put a mobile home on it (even tho manufactured homes aren’t mobile homes, but they are treated like the same thing)…. And that my home has to be 1500 square feet or more.

Neighbor was a cool guy. I could totally see myself/us partying with him. And he had a camper which was “wink wink nudge nudge” totally LEGAL with electricity from his house hooked up to it.

But as our realtor said, that county ..... the county clerk says “we dont care what you do with the land” and seems to be one of the most lax in TN.

Anyday now I won’t be a couch surfer anymore.


Last updated September 27, 2023


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.