What in the Cutie Freaking Pie is Happening Here? in These Foolish Things

  • March 31, 2023, 11:21 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Well, hm.

Every day at The Cutie Pie Company brings more scratching of the head.

I’m six weeks in. There has been so much chaos and drama that I’m really going to have to start protecting myself at this point. Let me just bullet point yesterday:

  • I’m the first person in the office. I have a lot to learn and I’m trying to be on top of my game, so this happens fairly frequently.

  • A few people flow in, including Social Media Director, who I already know is on Chief Cutie’s (founder and CEO) shit list. He looks sour.

  • Chief Cutie comes strolling in but storms out minutes later to “go get coffee”

  • I have my virtual team meeting 30 minutes later, which Chief Cutie joins in person with her coffee in the conference room. After we log off, Chief Cutie starts telling me how angry she is at Social Media Director for “lying” to her about needing to leave “early” on his birthday (I saw him leave at 5:30, mind you, which is our official End of Day) and then taking off for jury duty and some other things I don’t quite understand. Mind you, Chief Cutie talks a million miles a minute and she is going off on a tangent at this point.

  • I go about my day of frantically making sure my team is on task while being pulled into a million conversations with the product team and then back and forth with Chief Cutie, who is, again, displeased with something - this time something I’ve sent to her for approval. She then apologizes over Slack, telling me she’s mad now at the Content Director for going to a hair appointment at lunch and not checking her Slacks while she is getting her hair done.

  • Chief Cutie later pulls me into a back room to tell me that Social Media Director stormed out of the building earlier in a huff AND that Content Director actually just put in her two weeks notice after her hair appointment!!

  • Now, I already knew that our H.R. person had already put in her two weeks notice right before leaving on a trip to Cabo yesterday, so that’s another person down - and this is a 25-person company!

  • Chief Cutie then goes on to disclose, “See, THIS is why I’m planning on selling this company!”

  • Chief Cutie THEN tells me she’s planning on moving one of MY staff over to become the new Content Director. OKAY. Fine. This girl is the weakest on my team, but has a background in digital media, so I wasn’t that concerned because the rest of my team is very, very good and can absolutely cover for this position.

  • It’s 5:30 at this point and Chief Cutie tells me to go ahead and announce the change to my staff because the move is effective immediately, so I have my virtual meeting with everyone except for my Senior Designer who has firm boundaries (good for her!) and has already signed off for the day

  • I spend the next hour frantically working on getting emails out that I couldn’t get out during business hours because of all of the chaos.

  • I’m the last person in the office at 6:30. Or so I thought…

  • Chief Cutie comes out from a back room asking if I’m the last one in the office. She’s puffy-faced and her eyes are red. She tells me she’s been crying. I get it. It’s been a fucked-up day, and I commiserate with her and listen. I understand her frustration, and I offer my words of support. Of course, I would never, EVER tell her that her manic, frantic ways are why the turnover is so freaking high. She blames it on Gen Z and their terrible work ethic.

  • She then tells me not to worry about what she said about the sale of the company. She said what every business owner says when they want to sell their company, “They are buying my people and their valuable expertise!” Right. Right. I’ve seen this before. I didn’t dig and question about possible timing of this event, but I’m going to see if I can work it into conversation at some point soon.

  • It was a good talk - Chief Cutie desperately needed to talk with someone, and we ended it with not one but two hugs because she needed them. But I’ll be goddamned!

I can not TELL you how I can’t wait for the end of today and the weekend.

What am I going to do???
GS


Complicated Disaster March 31, 2023

Buy the company??
I do feel that Chief Cutie needs to take a look in the mirror though!
xx

Stumble Bee 🐝 March 31, 2023

Get a new job. She has zero boundaries. Zero respect for people who use their own time. And then narcissistically complains so someone is on her side .

Your choice :) if you want to work in an environment that’s toxic. Might be worth it? 🤷‍♀️

Ginger Snap Stumble Bee 🐝 ⋅ March 31, 2023

I’m not going to quit 6 weeks in! If I can get through a year of cancer treatment, I can get through a year of this as long as I don’t get let go due to a sale! That’s not to say I won’t have my feelers out!!

CharminglyNeurotic March 31, 2023

This is a toxic work environment. I'm so sorry this is happening and certainly not something you want to hear when you searched so long for this job, but please start looking for another job. This is not sustainable and as a cancer survivor this level of stress is not healthy (for anyone).

Ginger Snap CharminglyNeurotic ⋅ March 31, 2023

Yeah. I know there was some of this going in, but it’s way crazier than I even imagined!

Athena March 31, 2023

Holy shit. This is really bad. I am definitely available this evening and all weekend.

ninakir88 March 31, 2023

i'd start looking for new jobs.. you know its much easier to find a job when you already have a job
this ceo obviously plans on running everyone to the ground. also , i feel it's unacceptable for you to be working 12 hour days.

Nash March 31, 2023

Jebuzz. I am so sorry.

bobbi01 March 31, 2023

Oh boy. I've seen this before where an owner can't distinguish between the commitment of owning a company and working for one. Ot sounds like she is melting down.

simple mind March 31, 2023

Is moving to Provo still on the table? (I kid)

Wow, crazy. A lot of good advice in these comments already so I have nothing to add.

plushcreep March 31, 2023

Yikes...

I agree that you should stick it out, though. You didn't spend all that time searching for a job, and then give up the Treehouse and uproot your life to a new city, just to bail at the first sign of trouble.

How old is the company? Are these just everyday growing pains?

colder March 31, 2023

Something like this seems to suggest to me that stress is getting to her, or that something is going on in Chief’s personal life. Possible she’s just not cut out for leading an org, but…

This kind of seems like a place where your maturity and experience could really make a difference. It’s always dicey trying to help develop someone who’s above you or who you report to, but if you have that “safe place to confide” thing going, maybe at some point you can be a trusted advisor and help bring some stability?

They hired a talented person who is fully of good ideas I think, hope they put that together 🙂

WhatDreamsMayCome April 01, 2023

Egads.
Wishing you well.

pandora April 01, 2023

Eek! I’m glad you wrote it all out, I’ve been curious. I hope she settles down and learns to actually like her staff and respect normal boundaries?!

Lux Lunae April 06, 2023

If she sells, I hope that they keep you all on and that you're sold to a company with a good corporate culture with good leadership. This boss sounds absolutely abysmal at leading.

Serin April 11, 2023

Chief Cutie needs to find a way to actually let her people do their jobs. This stuff is one of the reasons founders get ousted in favour of adult supervision as they grow past the reach of a single visionary.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.