A few things in TIME Flies and other Thoughts

  • March 30, 2023, 1:54 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

A few weeks ago without notice my Desk Top and my Laptop kicked the bucket!
I turned the Desk Top on to search for something. The last time I had it on was last May when I copied all my Photo’s to an External Hard Drive and Thumb Drive. Many of them were on the Backup Drive that is connected to that computer but that Backup Drive is at least 15 years old. It still works but it is a matter of time when it dies too.
What was not backed up was some of my Documents. But off the top of my head I can’t recall what they are, so how important were they?
When I switched on the Desk Top there was NOTHING… no Lights no nothing!
I read Online that it is probably the Power Source. My husband is not incline AT ALL to replace it. He said I need to come into the new Century and be totally done with the Desk Top. I know I could pull the hard drive out and connect it to one of the other 2 Desk Tops we have that is tucked in a closet.
My Lap Top… well okay for some time at least a year or more the keys have been starting to fail me on the right side. I would have to use an External Keyboard. Otherwise, it was a wonderful Laptop. It was at least 8 years old and I had zero of that backed up.
Nothing important was on it and if it was that important I made a hard copy because I don’t trust computers.. I had had computers in past years die and how disappointing that was! But there was some Photo’s I had saved of various friends from FB and writings I wanted to keep, but again, nothing that important.

So, when that Laptop started giving me issues with the Keys not working, my husband got me this Laptop. I have used them in different rooms. Nothing is backed up on this Computer either, but then there is nothing very important on it. I got my Photo’s saved. That is all that is important. My husband is like… “Put everything in the cloud”.. NO.. I don’t trust it.

Anyway, I am not broke up about the dying of my Laptop and Desktop in the same week! In fact I am not broke up at all. I got those Pictures safe and that is all that matters. I need to print those 20 years out of photo’s.. Can you imagine how much money that will be? A good Thousand at least. Those too, my husband says I should put them in the cloud. I like Picture books. I am more likely to pull them out and people are more likely to see them than me having to get on a computer and find a photo.


We are changing our Internet Service and our Cable Service and doing away with the landline. My husband has been wanting to do it for a LONG while and I wasn’t willing to let go of the local channels. He watches nothing on local channels and hasn’t for years. He only see’s Movies periodically on Netflix and Prime. I rarely watch anything on those.
So, with all the new housing being build up past our way, Ziply Internet laid Cable over the last few months along the road. They came to our house a month ago and asked if we wanted it. I said no. We are content and happy with the service we got. Who cares that the internet connection is faster. What we had was sufficient. Hey, I recall when there was just Dialup years ago. We kept getting ads of Ziply in the mail and a few weeks ago my husband looked into it. Going through Ziply and getting like You Tube TV or one of the other 4 offered we would save 100. dollars a month.. and we would also get rid of the Landline. (We rarely used it.. it was just part of the package when we moved here 7.5 years ago. I only used it for Long Distant Phone calls (for better stability) and my Mom and a friend always called me on it..
So, through You Tube TV I can still get local TV and it was one of the few that offered PBS.
Now that I am older, I like PBS a lot.
My brother and I joked once that we must be getting old because we like PBS now. When we were younger we viewed it as an Old Person’s TV Channel. Other than the fact that he watched Mr Rodgers and Seasame Street and Electric Light Company when he was a kid and so did my kids.
So, that will be different. I will probably watch less of TV than I did before just because the format is different. It is more like searching for a show like Netflix or Prime.


Every Year about March… anything I have done all year long (starting in September) I am feeling DONE. Like I want it to be done! Like I have had my full and I need a break.
I have felt that way when I was Bowling.. and I feel that way with Bible Study. (The day Bible Studies that is). We do a year-round Bible Study with my BIL and his wife. That will be for as long as they want to continue doing it. And I have an evening Seminary level Study that will break in May. The Ladies Day Study is the one that I am feeling done. And in part because I have facilitated it since September although fall and Winter are two different Studies. What I and we all will miss is the Fellowship. In two weeks, we will meet for the last time. We are having a lunch Potluck and will talk about doing some Day Trips together. The Church has a BusVan and the Pastor has offered to drive it for our trips and another Gal has experience driving it.
The Summer break will be good and cause us to be eager for September to begin again.


And how about that Unrest in Israel.................


ConnieK March 30, 2023

I'm leery of cloud storage, too. Streaming TV is confusing at first but look for the magnifying glass, type your show into the search box and see if its offered. If it is, mark it as a favorite and build a custom lineup.
Unrest in Israel, unrest in Tennessee, it's never going to get resolved unless mankind chooses to do the right thing. Something to pray on.

crystal butterfly April 04, 2023

I prefer my desktop because the screen is larger and you can do many things easier on it than on a laptop.

Bird of Paradise crystal butterfly ⋅ April 08, 2023

I have found for ME that a Desktop and Laptop are about the same. I accomplish everything the same. The only thing is I lack a built in CD/DVR player/recorder. (I bought an external one). I just liked having that Desktop... I used one for 20 years. It was my Friend LOL except the only reason I went a Laptop is because my ankles swell sitting at a Desk. UGH.. I dealt with that for way too long! My Laptop sits on my Lap on top of external fan. And I can use it all over the house and take it places if need be. So that is very handy. I like to use it in my Woman Cave but my ankles HATE that recliner. They swell. (I tried a couch and that didn't work and in fact putting my legs up on an ottoman gave me knee issues that I will now have for life)!
So, when my ankles start to ache and swell I come down stair to this Couch recliner.
Or I go in the spare bedroom and kick back on the bed with my Laptop. All 3 places have a TV I can watch and be online. I always multitask.
Now my Ipad is a whole nother story. You can't do so many things.. It is good for travel only as far as I am concerned.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.