Near and Far in These Foolish Things

  • March 26, 2023, 9:19 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

So, I think I’m starting to maybe kind of figure out this new city. On the one hand, since it’s only a three hour drive to my old city, it’s almost like I’m still so close. Yet, the two cities are really quite different and it’s hard to explain. It’s a totally different VIBE here.

Where my former city felt kind of like a dazzling, finely-appointed hotel suite, this city feels more like the funky AirBnb down the street filled with cool, hand-crafted touches. Both of them you want to post on Instagram, but you want to capture different angles.

My former city was like a tailored, freshly made king-sized bed topped with the finest linens, neatly tucked in on all sides. My new city is a heavily patina’d queen-sized brass bed covered in the most colorful well-worn patchwork quilt with threads sticking out here and there. You love sleeping in either bed, but for different reasons. Your dreams feel different, too.

My former city was a networking meeting in a fancy lobby full of handshakes and suits, passed hors d’oeuvres, champagne toasts and business chatter. My new city is a happy hour at a brewery in torn jeans and cowboy boots, slap-on-the-back hugs, whiskey sipping and discussions of kayak trips and live music shows. Either can lead to new relationships and successful outcomes, they just seem to come around differently.

And I’m standing here kind of in this awkward stage with one high-heeled foot still in my old frame of mind and the other flip-flopped foot on the edge of the river, about to get my toes wet. I’m excited, but I’m a little bit afraid that I’m too old for this young, hip city with it’s effortless cool factor.

There are moments when I feel like I don’t belong here, but then I take a walk on the city trail and look around, and I’m like…oh, hell yes. Not only do I belong here, but I’m about ready to sign up for a volunteer group with the city parks and start walk-and-talks with my neighbors and maybe…just maybe…start a teeny, tiny brunch club?

My weekends are too, too short. My workdays are intense as hell. I have so much to write, but I pack so much into my days that I’m too exhausted lately. It’s all so new and it’s been a LOT, but I think I needed this big, big change to get me out of my comfort zone.

I’m definitely out of my comfort zone!

But not too far.
I’ve missed you,
GS


bobbi01 March 26, 2023

I like how you describe it. Different but good.

Jinn March 27, 2023

I concur it’s a great description of your old city versus your new city,
It’s a new life, it takes a few to adjust . You will be super at it !

Complicated Disaster March 27, 2023

I think you're spot on! I mean your new city has a pretty well known vibe, right? A brunch club sounds wonderful! xx

Athena March 27, 2023

Your descriptions are perfect. I am exhausted but I hope we can connect soon.

WhatDreamsMayCome March 27, 2023

I agree with your great descriptions!
You're never too old!!

Kate March 27, 2023

You sum up the differences perfectly.

plushcreep March 31, 2023

You should have named this post "A Tale of Two Cities!" Great analogies though.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.