Monday - 07.07.14 in Your Face

  • July 7, 2014, 8:36 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

What a dull day. I say this a lot, but today was really a waste.

I woke up with a foul headache, not a migraine, but very similar to the awful headache that comes with a bad hangover. I got myself up, slowly took my pain pills with sips of water, got dressed into whatever was closest, which turned out to be a grey 3/4 shirt and some brown pants that don't fit me right.

I wandered to my neighbour's house for a chai latte, and sat with him for a while. I started to feel better as my pain pills took hold and the hot drink settled my stomach.

After that, I drove down to the supermarket to get a few things for dinner (honey mustard chicken). I washed my bedding and hung it out to dry on the line, it was a fine and sunny day with a little wind.

I had lunch with my neighbour (pickled pork sandwiches) and came back home to nap. I woke with a start when I heard an email arrive. I had hoped it would be from the US Consulate, but it was an update from EBay for the replacement car door handle I ordered.

I brought my bedding in and re-made my bed, even though at that moment I would have rather done anything else. My neighbour texted me to see if I wanted to have a drink with him, which usually means that he is getting into the beer and feels weird drinking alone. I walked over and had a couple of Baileys and milk, then came back home for dinner.

I spend a lot of time with my neighbour, he's 62 or so and a full time carer for his wheelchair bound, 91 year old mother. He seems to take in a lot of younger kids that he knows through friends or family and who have nowhere to stay. He's one of those "old" guys that is everybody's substitute grandpa or uncle. He has a huge heart and just loves having someone to chat to. Being unemployed, and living right next door, I don't mind being that person. We get along well.

I have "retired for the night" to my cave (my bedroom), where I will watch a movie or two until I feel tired enough for sleep.

Today I feel bored and irritated. I am unable to book any appointments that the Consulate may require, because I still don't know what they would like me to do. I received an email from them this morning saying that my file is still being reviewed, so I will just have to be patient.


Rerrin July 07, 2014

I hate that feeling of restlessness. I hope the answers come soon!

Stephably July 07, 2014

blah headaches. glad you felt better but I hope the consulate hurries up and figures your stuff out!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.