February Fun in Scottish Meanderings

Revised: 03/15/2023 10:31 a.m.

  • March 12, 2023, 7 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Trying not to listen to the negative voice in my head telling me we're half way through March and I'm already not doing well with my once a month entries this year. I did another cut of Mirtazapine on Thursday night and was hit with a slew of symptoms and I only got 3 hours sleep last night so I know that voice is always louder when I feel grotty. But it's so destructive. Nikki was terribly sick most of Friday night and Saturday - she thought it was a Chinese carryout she had for tea but texted in the early hours of this morning to say Lilah had just been sick so maybe it's a stomach bug - so I went out to look after the kids and her on Saturday and she managed to catch up on some sleep. Once everyone was in bed I went off home around 10 but the next day I wasn't well and was very dizzy. I think it was probably the cut rather than being out there (I wasn't sick so it wasn't what she had) but Nikki was still very weak and needed shopping. She'd booked a click and collect at ASDA and was going to attempt that but I didn't want her driving so offered to do it - which was daft because I really wasn't well enough either. But I just wanted to be able to help her out you know?

Then I slipped on the stairs and fell down several of them and the dizziness was worse after that so I told her I couldn't drive and she said she couldn't see any way of cancelling at that point without losing her money so decided to try and go in. And all I could do was berate myself for being a crap Mum, not able to step up when needed. The whole of the day before was negated in my head.

I really need to change that.

Her childminding business which she started 2 weeks ago is going really well though and she's loving it - she said she can't believe she's getting paid for something she loves doing - so I'm really pleased. I just hope she gets organised with the paperwork because there's a lot of it and she's not the best at that sort of thing. She was buying a second hand car recently and I was with her (as I was the 'pseudo finance company'😁) and honestly I was so embarrassed. The dealer asked her for the name of her present finance company (a legit one).
No idea.
How much is left to pay?
No idea.
What time period did you take out the loan for?
No idea.

I was squirming in my seat! Not surprisingly the car dealer did us out of road tax - I hadn't realised until afterwards that he was making us pay for that when it should have been included in the price of the car. Then when we went to WeBuyAnyCar to get a deal on her old one they couldn't take it because she didn't have the V5 logbook so the car had to sit at my house for two weeks while she searched her garage in vain and had to order a new one at a cost of £25 and wait for it to come. Then when we attempted to take it over a second time she'd forgotten to take her driving licence! Third time was lucky I'm glad to say😊


The highlight of February was making it to my cousin Jane's 60th birthday party in Glasgow. As you may recall, the last trip to Glasgow in October with my friend Janice last year to see James Taylor was a disaster - I was unwell pretty much the whole time I was there and it was just awful so I was dreading this event but I happened to have a good day healthwise and it was brilliant! I slept well the night before to my shock so that set me up for the day and honestly - it was just like someone had hijacked my normal body and replaced it with the old me. I was actually crying in the car going down because I've missed that person sooooo much!😒

And it was lovely to see family I hadn't seen for a while. A bit of a shock to see Ian, my oldest brother, because his mobility is so compromised now but I was expecting that. I was so grateful to my niece, Marina, who drove from Inverness to Fort William to take him and Margaret over in the car and took them home again - they were going to take the train and I was so worried about him being able to negotiate getting on and off a train and going to the toilet & so on. So that was a real relief. I'm so glad he's got Margaret to look after him on a daily basis. Unfortunately he got Covid afterwards but although it was bad at the start and his balance went haywire again, it doesn't seem to have had the lasting effect this time - he was feeling better last week so hopefully he'll recover okay.


Jane is very sociable - there were over 150 people there! I would be lucky to amass 30 folk to a party nowadays if I had one and most of these would be family! She was on the go the whole night chatting to everyone and dancing the night away - that's her in the red dress doing a Gay Gordons on the floor.


And - such a good idea - there was a hot buffet with an absolutely delicious array of food and instead of dessert or a birthday cake (which would have had to be huge to cater for that many folk) she had a cake on every table with a cheese/fruit board - as you can see on ours there was an absolutely delicious carrot cake which we demolished forthwith - best one I've tasted yet! And then later on there were bacon rolls as well.

The girls all ready to be partied out! This is me, Lorna (my sister), my niece Jenny and my niece Marina.


And here's myself, Ian & Lorna - it's a shame Mike (my other brother) wasn't there as it's a while since we've had a photo taken of the 4 of us but he's kind of distanced himself from us now - doesn't want to be part of the weekly chat - Ian phones him every now and then but is getting confused so struggles to remember what Mike said on the phone. He did get an invite but we never heard anything - maybe it was too far to come - he lives in London.


It was a great night - I was even up dancing!

Jane manages Eddi Reader (Scottish singer - was in Fairport Convention many years ago) and Capercaillie (Scottish Celtic band) and Eddi sang one of Jane's favourites for her - Moon River - and then her and Karen Matheson sang a duet - another of Jane's favourites - I Walk Alone - so that was pretty special.
And Eddi made me feel better - I didn't have the capacity to go and buy an outfit - it was enough just to get there - and I was wishing I'd dressed up more but when I saw Eddi's wellies ......πŸ˜‚

Next day we met up with Jane and Susan (her sister), and her husband Richard - Lorna took photos but I'm still waiting for them so can't post them then I had a good run back. Unfortunately I didn't sleep the whole night of Friday night so felt a bit rough because of that but otherwise I was still ok. It was a tremendous boost for me and on days like today when I feel like crap, I remember it and think there'll be another day like that coming soon.

Next event is the family get together in Dundee in May so we'll see how that goes.


And of course no entry would be complete without an entry about the shed!!😁

I got it down to this.


And then when I contacted the landscaper last week he said 2 of his guys were asking him for overtime on Saturday morning so they could demolish it then. He's doing the base for the summerhouse but couldn't do it at that point but at least it got the shed down.

So the shed is no more!


Which doesn't mean everything that was in it is sorted out - I have about 6 boxes of stuff sitting in my spare bedroom to go through but I can't stand clutter so hopefully I can just chip away at it in the coming months and get it dealt with.


Lily's been getting Living and Growing classes recently and isn't enjoying them at all I don't think. Nikki was prepared for some awkward questions/chats but wasn't prepared for being told the boys in her class were talking about cum afterwards!! I said well that's karma for when you were getting them (although I'm quite sure she was a good bit older at that point) and told me about being disgusted at learning all about masturbation then turned to me and said "Do YOU do it?" I have no idea what I replied - I think I've blocked the memory of it from my brain!!

I mean - they're only 10 - it seems very young to be learning about such things and I'm just hoping it doesn't cause confusion or anything worse. Maybe I'm just getting old!😁

Last updated March 15, 2023


NorthernSeeker March 15, 2023

I would say you help Nikki a lot...no need to scold yourself. Did you recover from that fall down the stairs? I love the idea of putting a cake on every table...self serve works well (except for the one who is cutting up the cake for everyone else). That was quite a party and you did yourself proud with all the dancing.

Marg NorthernSeeker ⋅ March 15, 2023

Yes I did thanks - I've no idea what happened - I seemed to slip and my slippers both came flying off (they're good fitting slippers) then I bumped down several stair edges on my bum - ouch! But apart from the increased dizziness and a wrenched arm muscle I seemed to be ok next day.
I was stoked that it went so well - gives me hope for the future :)

blackpropaganda March 16, 2023

Great to read you again, and sorry you are still finding things difficult. However the party sounds fantastic! I must write a bit more although life is very organised as SW... needs a structured week. My one afternoon off is walking in a group and I have a special friend there who is great to talk to. My sex education was from a book published in the 1930s - I did not go blind!
All best wishes

Marg blackpropaganda ⋅ March 17, 2023

It was really lovely! Wow it would be interesting to see the differences in that book compared to what is put out now - I imagine there would be quite a lot missing?

Just Annie March 16, 2023

Ugh. I hate when the negative voices invade my head. Just shut up, please!

Marg Just Annie ⋅ March 17, 2023

Yes I wish we had a delete button for them!😁

thesunnyabyss March 16, 2023

What a gorgeous family you have and that music was so lovely.

I have learned that once I recognize that mean voice in my head I tell it to shut up bc it doesn't know what it's talking about and that works but you have to catch yourself before you are too deep into it.

I hope you feel better and get some solid sleep soon.

Marg thesunnyabyss ⋅ March 17, 2023

My mean voice doesn't appear to listen to me - what a surprise!😁

thesunnyabyss Marg ⋅ March 17, 2023

I know, those mean voices are persistent buggers, LOL.

Distraction, that's what I do, tell my voice to F*** off and then purposely do something to distract myself, it's not easy to do every time and it takes a lot of practice, at first I'd sometimes use the the elastic around the wrist trick and snap it when I caught myself in those spiralling thought patterns. But again it works when you catch yourself, that's the biggest part to it, that moment of 'why am I talkng to myself like this' they begin to happen sooner into the 'conversation' the more you practice it, but so far I have not found it to completely silence the voice at all. Also I try see if the voice is just yelling hormonal garbage bc it does that frequently.

Marg thesunnyabyss ⋅ March 18, 2023

Yes I'm the Queen of Distraction these days! I'm in NA now (although fighting against it a lot of the time because I don't consider myself an addict) and I am noticing because of doing the steps that I'm much more aware of that voice and my thinking now and can sometimes question it and change it so that's good. But yes I have the same problem - a lot of that stuff is caused by the drug so sometimes I just have to accept it's part of withdrawal and will eventually decrease as others have found once they've healed from the damage done by Mirtazapine.

thesunnyabyss Marg ⋅ March 18, 2023

I looked it up and that drug sounds miserable to get off of, I am sorry you are having such a hard time with it.

Marg thesunnyabyss ⋅ March 19, 2023

Yes 50% of folk on it will have a dreadful time coming off it - to the point of lives being ruined - but doctors are not recognising this although it's changing gradually now. As with all changes though it's a very slow process!

noko March 18, 2023 (edited March 18, 2023)

Edited

I would think that the getting better, more balanced, and able to cope is going to come on incrementally. I love that you had that day on the way to the party where you felt almost normal. And the party sounds like a good time. There does seem to be such a distance now between young bodies maturing earlier and their minds, which are still firmly those of children. It is a quandary. Glad the car thing got sorted and I hope your daughter can find someone to help with all the paperwork so that she can keep doing what she loves.

Marg noko ⋅ March 19, 2023

Yes I think you're right - it just seems such a slow process because it's been such a long time that sometimes it's hard to see progress - but even tiny things like me being able to answer comments not long after writing my entry is progress - normally I have to leave them until the next entry - so I notice things like that are happening now. It's not a linear recovery as well so that often sends us hurtling backwards as new symptoms appear out of the blue to deal with but one day it'll all be a distance memory🀞
I agree - it must be very difficult devising a programme of sex education these days - what to put in what to leave out - not a job I would fancy!

noko March 18, 2023

Oh, and good work on the shed!

Marg noko ⋅ March 19, 2023

Thank you!

JustSurviveSomehow March 19, 2023

From reading other comments I see that you have recovered from your fall which I'm glad to hear! Sometimes we just bite off a little bit more than we can chew. "Living and Growing" classes. That is interesting terminology - I don't even know what they call them here but not that. I remember when we're in 4th grade we learned about our gender, and 5th grade we learned about the opposite gender. So 10 and 11. For whatever that's worth. I do have to say that we never learned about maturbation though. I was an adult before I realized that it wasn't strictly a guy thing.

Marg JustSurviveSomehow ⋅ March 20, 2023

No I don't remember learning about that stuff either - I think most of our stuff came from Biology classes - I don't remember specific sex education as such.

The Tranquil Loon March 20, 2023

Great job on the shed.This looks like a wonderful party. Life has been so depressing since covid I'm glad things are changing again

Marg The Tranquil Loon ⋅ March 22, 2023

Yes it makes you appreciate seeing people all the more having been through that I think😊

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.