Not recommended in Stuff

  • March 12, 2023, 11:53 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I don’t recommend working with Covid-19. It hasn’t been fun. Friday was a struggle, but Saturday I woke up feeling somewhat less like death, but still a struggle lol. I’ve had two of my workmates ask, “Why are you wearing a mask?”
One I responded to with, “Why do you think I’m wearing a mask?” That was met with, “Why are you at work?” I responded, “Ask the ASM! I don’t want to be here either.” At least he gave me Thursday off.
The other one I simple responded, “Cos I’ve got Covid.” That made him back off quickly. I also briefly met the new store manager on Friday, but again, only saw him the one as he decided to keep his distance lol. Then yesterday, I caught my department manager in passing, as he was leaving as I was starting. He went to shake my hand, as it was his last day. I said, “You probably don’t wanna do that, I’ve got Covid.”
Raised eyebrow, “You’ve got Covid?”
“Yup.” Haha, so yeah. Anyway, he thanked me for everything and “doing the work he didn’t want to do.” So what, you mean most things? :P
Then I was by myself for the entirety of my shift, which I was not happy about. Yeah, put the guy with fucking Covid on by himself - see how productive things are. I left four cages by the time I walked out of there.

I took another RAT when I got home. I got excited for a bit when it initially came up clear, but unfortunately by the end of the 15 minutes, a faint line had appeared. God-dammit. I just want this to fuck off already. Just so I can get some sense of normality again, really. I had one guy in the lift with me fake a cough. Another guy on Facebook shared a video of people going around shoving people wearing masks. It took a fair bit to not say anything about it and ignore it.
If I knew I’d given this to an elderly customer at work, I would struggle to forgive myself. Thankfully the few people at work who who tend to still wear masks are the elderly customers, not the sheer ignorance I’m seeing from the rest of the population. It’s been 8 days now since I was in the hospital. I’m feeling better with each day that passes, with the exception of yesterday but I don’t think the stress of working with no assistance helped. Paracetamol and ibuprofen have been my friends.

I had to postpone on seeing “Scream VI” with my friend Brent. He’s kindly said he’ll wait until next Monday instead, but I know what he’s like - I reckon he’ll see it without me, despite saying that. You get to know what your long-term friends are like after so many years. But hey, happy to be proved wrong. I know I could just go see it with him in my mask but I just don’t feel comfortable in this society of anti-maskers.

Oh, I see Donald Trump has released a “single” LOL. That was something I could have done without hearing this morning.


s.q.u.e.a.k March 13, 2023

Totally agree with you. I had to work when I had it. I ended up with long Covid symptoms. Ian got to sleep for a week and was fine 🤦🏼‍♀️
Hope you feel better soon

Palmtreesandzebras March 13, 2023

You can still test positive and be better. It's so frustrating. But I'm with you. I felt like crap for over a week and was tired for the next month.

And wait. Trump has a single. oh dear lord.

kmh. March 16, 2023

You poor thing still having to work while not feeling great :(

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.