Stolen from a very smart person in These titles mean nothing.

  • March 11, 2023, 10:37 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

The challenge is to write a complete short story in 5 sentences. The first words in each sentence are:

First, there was a
I didn’t realize it but
Then I discovered
I was so surprised when
And so I learned

First there was a scratch at the door. I didn’t realize it but I had been waiting to hear that sound. Then I discovered what was on the other side of the door. I was so surprised when it was Gracie my dead dog. And so I learned there is a form of life, even after death, even for dogs.

I apologize for using poor old dead Gracie as material.

I thank you all for the kinds words about Gracie. I heard from people I hadn’t heard from in a long time, people I don’t really know that well, and from my old good friends who have shared my life and Gracie’s for a long time. Thank you.


Last updated March 11, 2023


IpsoFacto March 11, 2023

Wonderful!

noko March 11, 2023

Having very recently lost a pet I understand this. Sometimes I turn around and he is on the chair, even as he is not there.

gattaca March 12, 2023

Dogs enrich our lives and the grief we feel when they are gone is very real.

NorthernSeeker March 13, 2023

Do you keep seeing Gracie out of the corner of your eye? I did with Fergus.

A Pedestrian Wandering March 13, 2023

I love this! I think Gracie might like to be back in your life, even as part of a short, complete story.

A Pedestrian Wandering March 14, 2023

First, there was a site called Open Diary. I didn’t realize it but it was a chance to write about things happening in my life. Then I discovered Prosebox after OD started floundering. I was so surprised when people started reading and commenting on things I wrote and I enjoyed learning about others through their writing. And so I learned that, as complex as life can be at times, writing about my life and reading how others deal with life can be tremendously cathartic, helpful and even healing.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.