Procrastination in Trichotomy

  • March 10, 2023, 9:45 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

A variation on a popular survey

1. First concert - Chinese University of Hong Kong Choir
2. Last concert - Me
3. Worst concert - Me
4. Loudest concert - Metrics
5. Best concert - Hard to define “best”... but Mahler 6th at SFO on Sept 12th 2001 was powerful.
6. Seen the most - NY Phil, probably?
7. Most surprising - Murray Perhraia at a high school auditorium.
8. Happy I got to see - Barbara Bonney
9. Wish I could have seen - Horowitz

- D

Digital Hygiene

After the Antarctica trip, my pictures and videos were uploaded to the cloud and I was surprised that they were altogether 22G. I was surprised. I’m now getting close to my provider’s cloud drive storage limits and will need to pay 50% more to double my storage. Ten years ago I probably would have spent the time to archive them to cold line storage to avoid the cost.

But as I get older I have less and less patience to do repetitive maintenance tasks, so I’m considering sucking it up.

- N

Willful Optimist

My amateur musician group had its orchestral concert two weeks ago. This time, it managed to cover rental costs of the church it rented out, but had to swallow the cost of renting rehearsal space. So it’s in the low thousands rather than high thousands like last time. The orchestral concert also cannibalised the attendance of a regular recital, which took place a week later (i.e., yesterday. I’m still skeptical about the orchestra project, but mostly because I have no visibility into it - the only thing I could see was the concert where the orchestra performed an hour-long program, sounding like a highschool orchestra, to a half-empty church, with the other half of the program filled out by soloists. But everyone involved in it was very excited by the prospect of finding this church. And they seem confident to be able to find affordable rehearsal spaces for next time. I hope they manage to find an affordable space; the orchestra project has costed us a lot of money in the past.

The service we use to send communication e-mails is changing its free tier terms of service, so we either have to find an alternative, or start paying. For what we use the service for and what they are charging, it makes no sense to move on to the paid tier, but I need time to get an alternative set up. I have a feeling we’ll suck it up in the short term - compared to what the orchestra is costing, this is a drop in the bucket.

- S


Last updated March 19, 2023


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.