Yesterday.. in A Day in the Life of Me

  • March 2, 2023, 8:47 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I was to damn drained to write about yesterday.

I’m not sure what the fuck is happening to me, but my tough skin I used to have seems to be wearing thin.. or it’s just bad (monthly) timing, but a work ‘issue’ arose yesterday, and I was a stupid blubbery mess all fucking day over it.

So to start off… There’s been little tiny annoying things that have happened.. this was filed (electronically) wrong, or “why wasn’t X notified when Y called/came in
Dumb. Little. Accumulating. Things.

Then there was the self evaluations, and then the one on one meetings 2 weeks following..
Which I thought despite everything going on..went well....

Well… Y.P seemed to have it out for me yesterday morning....
We were getting ready to have a staff meeting, and we had a crew coming in to do the seasonal maintenance on our heat/cooling system.
I had booked and put in the shared calendar…
Well.. she had a go because she wasn’t EMAILED about it… Apparently putting it the shared calendar where everyone could see wasn’t enough.
Then there was a dig about payments.. I sometimes forget to email when ppl make payments on their files to the lawyers, but I DO make a point to tell the assistants when that happens (some times I’m to quick hitting the no button on the ‘do you want to send’ notice when saving things on files.) THEN she discovers that the cheque proof I gave her 2 weeks ago (and that we kinda needed right away) still needed to be approved.. so she has a massive go at me for not reminding her.. but I had.. more than once…
All this was in a span of less then 30 min.

Came back to my desk, trying to NOT erupt in tears of frustration.. lasted all of 10 minutes, because then the S.P who witnessed all of it, came up to speak to me about how Y.P was wrong for what she did, that I had done everything right, and she should not have been lashing out at me like that, and that I was a valuable and hard working employee and she wanted me to know that.

Cue the fucking flood gates..
Took me almost a half hr to get back under control, and that was while dealing with a potential client coming in for a meeting… Ugh ..

Y.P DID come up to me at lunch, and apologized profusely.
Not sure if she just realized she was being extra rude or if S.P had actually gone in and had words with her.. but of course....open the flood gates AGAIN.
Apparently the previous receptionist was more demanding with reminders, where as I don’t like to push at these ladies to much when I know they already all have over - flowing plates as it is…

In the end though, I sweet talked the rep at the business who prints our cheques for us, and I had the box in before the end of my lunch break. So saved the day there…then they never even used any of them …ffs

But FUCK it was a rough day....


Bomb Shell July 13, 2023

Urgh some people just have no self awareness. I had a colleague like this a few years ago and I just tried to stay away from here as much as possible.

Canadian Lass Bomb Shell ⋅ July 13, 2023

It's all good now.... She over stepped, she apologized, water under the bridge 😁

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.