Climate chaos? in A small but passable life.

  • March 1, 2023, 10:59 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

February is over. Normally it would have been warmer. The first ninety degree day of the year usually arrives in February. This year there wasn’t even one eighty degree day during February. And according to my calendar scribblings we’ve had one inch of rain from three rainy days scattered throughout the month.

The check from the IRS showed up in three weeks. I guess that’s good.

I found out that years old (5 or 6?) Bisquick does go bad. Or inert? Made some drop biscuits and they they did nothing in the oven except turn into stones. I know the bag of flour I keep in the frig is only a little over a year old so I thought I’d try the biscuits again, this time with Daughter’s recipe. Alas, no shortening. So today while ordering groceries I thought I’d buy some shortening. $14 for a 48oz can? No smaller cans. Ain’t gonna happen! I only need 1/3 cup, not three pounds!

There is blueberry pancake mix in the cupboard that is that old or older. Maybe I need to toss that out too? Or wait until I get the munchies again and see if it’s still viable? But I don’t have any syrup. Always something.

The cans of Hormel chili and the Dinty Moore beef stew are now $3 instead of $1. Not worth it.

Starlink sent an email. The monthly prices were adjusted. Some went down. Some went up. Mine went up. $110 to $120. Not happy about it, but reassured that the possibility of it going back down is there. This is the “buffer” in my budget. If I ever need money for groceries this is something that could be eliminated. Just like I eliminated the over six hundred a month Mom’s car required.

Daughter and Grandson video called last week. So nice! He’s growing like a weed. Very vocal, Very active and curious. Good looking little dude too! Almost makes wants me to move back to the shithole state of Missouri to be closer, but not quite. Weed is legal there now. But not abortions. Go figure.

Portland, Oregon. A foot of snow. Some do-gooders were going around checking on homeless people. (This was on youtube) A seventy year old man lying in a tent. Non-addict. Mentally fit. Other medical conditions. Currently receiving $1200 a month in SS. He just can’t find any other place to live?

The new American Dream-

To not die homeless.


Jinn March 01, 2023

So many people can not afford rent and living expenses these days. It’s lovely that we can afford to send trillions in foreign aid but it would be nice to help citizens here first.
Grocery prices are horrible. I try to plan everything out meal wise so I don’t go to cook and don’t have the right stuff., sometimes I wonder if it would not be better to just order food out part of the time. It would certainly be easier.
Glad your grandson is thriving.
What are you reading lately ?

Neogy Titwhistle Jinn ⋅ March 01, 2023

I've been rereading old favorite novels!

Loki March 01, 2023

It's crazy how the price of things are skyrocketing like this, especially groceries!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.