Remembering in The Common Room

  • July 3, 2014, 2:16 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Mage B writes today about "87 Things Only Poor Kids Know." It's young adulthood that gave me the lessons of poverty:

It is 1962.

Husband is in a body cast. The accident is not his fault, but the big sugar company he was working for in Wyoming owns the doctor too and he came back to Texas with a "pulled muscle" so there is no compensation. I roll him out of bed every morning and a truck picks him up. At the Manpower Training Center, in Abilene, someone tips him out and he stands all day, being trained as a chef. We have not much hope of the chef thing, but they pay $30.00 every Friday and we live on that -- sorta.

AND MAY JOHN FfITGERALD kENNEDY BE FOREVER BLESSED BY WHATEVER BENEVOLENT POWER EXTANT - for manpower training was his..

We have three small children. I know about nuitrition. They eat Gerber's toddler and baby food so that I can be sure they are nourished.

I am hungry. Very hungry. For the last four days, I have eaten only boiled, reconstituted pinto beans, and few of those. Husband says he eats at school, but it can't be much because he is still losing weight.

We live in an old farm house just on the edge, (across the road) from Abilene Christian College Exxperimental Farm. The house has been divided into a duplex, but the other side has always been empty.

On either side of us are small farms. Their chickens run everywhere, especially loving to peck at the insects occupying the wood of our front porch, which is rotting and dangerous. The sound of their pecking wakes me every morning.

Chickens!

I'm so-o-o hungry and there is baby food for only one more day, which is not Friday. While the children nap, with tears of shame running down my face, I go outaide and take one - steal my neighbort's property.

Once I have that chicken, feeling its struggle and its beating heart and knowing right from wrong, I let the thing go. It is not really regard for the life of the bird - I loathe the silly thing - it is the stealing.

Tomorrow, I must go to my neighbor and beg it. I can wait until tomorrow.

Morning has come. Husband has gone off to the center. Someone knocks on my door. It is a pair of women from the church we attend. They have brought a food box. My house if very clean. My children are clean, neat and polite. Still, the women look like they are afraid to touch anything - like they are afraid of bugs getting on them or catching something. I longe to spit in their priggish faces, but, for the children, I smile and thank them. They can't get away fast enough. As they leave, I hear one of them say,

"I can't believe white people would live ike this."

I open the box. There are three packages of pinto beans, a package of white rice, a very old looking bag of flour and - under everything else, a blessed can of tuna fish.

I surprise Husband with hot rice with tuna broken up in it. There is enough for everyone - some mashed up for baby.

Husband surprises me. His cast has been taken off, the school has one more week and he has a job starting the very next day afterward.

It is a long climb up but the very next month I replace the flour and beans in the church food pantry. I add six cans of meat and leave a signed thank you note, but never set foot in the place again.

We had many struggles to arrive at a place where my house is paid and I probably will not live out my savings.

I won't say I remember every day, but just last grocery buying day, I discovered that I had two cans of something and caught myself tucking the second away under the futon in the sunroom..

I thought I had finally broken myself of squirreling away food..


Deleted user July 04, 2014

I always felt most church folks were bigoted in some way shape or form. They'll feed you on occasion if you're poor, but they'll still look down their noses at you... at gays... at BC... at televisions... at just about EVERYTHING. Oh, and did I tell you it's done while they insist God "tells" them to love everyone and never ever judge. rolls eyes

Anyway, you're a helluva survivor! You know I know what it's like to struggle like that. Really thought back in 2011 we were at the end when the unemployment checks stopped before he found work. Funny how you see no light at the end of the tunnel one minute, the next you realize you're still alive.

MageB July 04, 2014

With two kids, I worked, he went to school and worked, and the kids lived at their day care. They cried terribly when they we dropped them off on Sunday nights, and I knew the place wasn't ok. I made bob's dinners every night by my kitchen windows as I watched the orthodox men and boys walk by in their black hats and long curls.

Ragdolls July 07, 2014

Everything Good Rebecca July 07, 2014

I love reading your stories, even the sad ones like this was on so many levels. I am so glad living in such hardship is a memory of the past rather than a fact of current life, as well. Overall, though? I'm glad you wrote this and glad you and your family have no need to squirrel away food, regardless of the tendency's stubborn way of trying to stick.

MageB July 14, 2014

Marion also made a chap book of her poetry. I don't think there is any way to get a copy. I'll see what I can do. Remind me please.

ThoughtsAfter July 16, 2014

What a story you have to share with us; so bleak and yet so victorious. In 1961 our first child was born and we moved to a new city where we knew no one, Kermit's first job. After each pay day we had 15 cents left in our bank account, but while life was limited we didn't have a moment like yours that you relate. Good for you to have more than survived. Any one of us might need help at any time and while that's true ...we can maintain our self pride as we move forward.

ThoughtsAfter July 23, 2014

re your note today: thank you so much for letting me and I imagine others know about the keyboard problem. Was a bit concerned for you. While driving along recently I saw a woman who reminded me of you in your recent pictures. Felt good, recognizing you (but not you) on the sidewalk of our town.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.