World Pride part 1 in Adventures in paradise

  • Feb. 24, 2023, 11:28 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Oh God, I couldn’t sleep at ALL last night. Andrew closes everything up, including the blinds, wheras I’m used to fresh air and waking up to natural light. So he got home after me and shut everything up and then starting snoring and farting in his sleep, while I lay there with my eyes closed, unable to get back to sleep. I literally had about an hour or so shut-eye.

The opening concert at World Pride was pretty awesome though, I will say. Every performance was really impressive and I’d totally forgotten there was a drone show, so THAT was awesome, although part of it was obscured by some trees where I was standing, but I could see the rest of it on the big screens around anyway.

The biggest surprise of the night was when Dannii Minogue appeared from behind some dancers. Kylie had said, “I’ve got a surprise for you” before she appeared toward the end of “All The Lovers” and the crowd went WILD. As did I. Omg, the Minogue sisters performing together for the first time in 8 years.
So yeah, I’m gay af.

Anyway, I quite liked the venue. Much more space than the Riverstage back in Brisbane and set out well, even packed out I could still move fairly well. I got back and crashed until Andrew got home from the sauna. In the end, I got up around 5:30am and had to throw on some clothes in the dark and went from a walk to get some fresh air. I honestly don’t know how Im going to handle another week of this stuffy air/being too hot to sleep shit. I got quite down about it this morning, wondering if I could check into somewhere else. It’d cost a fortune but because it’s the week of World Pride, I’d have no chance. Just not having much luck with accommodation the last few years here. The place itself is quite unique. Obviously a very old building with creaking floorboards, but everything is so clean, and you access it with pinpads with is pretty modern, so no keys are needed. I just had to make sure I wrote down the code in case my phone goes flat.
On my early-morning walk on no sleep, I was glad to find quite a few of the coffee places were open (thank-you Sydney). I think hunger was also part of the problem. If I’m awake even with my eyes closed, I find it I get hungry. It’s so strange. It’s like just being awake burns energy. I’ve had to get up quite often when this happens just to eat a piece of bread to tie me over. So I ordered a blueberry scroll and a mocha and went down to the bay to enjoy it by the water. All the seats were wet as it had obviously rained overnight (more fresh air I’d missed out on by having a closed window! I adore rain-air in this climate) so I sat down on some rock steps that were dry. Big mistake. People were out walking their dogs. Some people rounded the corner with FOUR dogs off-leash and the dogs spotted me and bounded over for some blueberry scroll. I had to defend it with my life LOL. The dogs were so cute and the owners apologised to me profusely. The woman says to me, “I bet your awake now!” Yeah, you could say that. I had muddy dog-paw prints on my shorts, which thankfully came off pretty easily. I’d walked a fair way, but realised I was back on the main road right near where I was staying. I wanted to wait until Andrew had left for the nude beach before going back so I could actually sleep, but he was still here at around 9am, and I told him I hadn’t slept at all. I’ve thankfully had a nap since then and feel a bit refreshed with a bit of a headache. Not sure what that’s from, as I hadn’t drank besides the first night. Could be Covid lol. Looks like I might have a week of restless nights ahead of me.
I realised that I could have just gone out clubbing on Oxford street after the concert all night instead. It would have been more productive.

I didn’t think I was gonna be about to write much while here, as I thought I left my laptop charger at home. I searched for it everywhere yesterday and for the life of me couldn’t find it. Today I looked in the same bag and it was in there. DOH. God I’m ditzy. I felt around for it and everything yesterday and nothing!


Last updated February 24, 2023


TL February 25, 2023

Sounds like a lovely surprise at the show. Sucks about the no sleep.

Fawkes Gal February 25, 2023

Ugh, no sleep is so miserable. I had no idea there was another Minogue other than Kylie. 😂

KissOfLife! Fawkes Gal ⋅ February 26, 2023

Really? She's pretty famous here and the UK, just not AS famous :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.