I'm in love with Open Brush in The Big, Blue, House. Year two.

  • Feb. 24, 2023, 6:05 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

And I found a discord server for Pagans in VR. And I learned that things made with Open Brush can be put into worlds in VR Chat.

So adding all of that together, obviously I’m building a world to hopefully eventually host some like minded peeps in virtual reality.

Here’s a horrible quality clip of half a camp fire I made, just to see if I could:

Hermits Unite! I had a button with that on it, about twenty years ago. Now we’re literally doing it. Can’t, (or don’t want to), get out of the house? People like yourself too few and far between? Get in VR, and onto Discord, and meet up without ever leaving your room. It’s an agoraphobe’s dream come true.

To be in a group in VR Chat, to be considerate, you really ought to have an optimized avatar. So as not to unnecessarily bog down everyone else’s computers. And I’m on a Quest 2, which limits my options for premade, optimized avatars. I don’t want to be a cartoon character, or an overly sexualized e-girl.

Last night I found some “good” quality bipedal cats, in several colors. Just ordinary house cats, walking on their hind legs, but about five feet tall. - So until I make my own avatar, if I ever actually join a group, I’ll be a giant, white, house cat. - It doesn’t even have articulated fingers, just the whole paw moves. Ugh “Anybody got any hairball remover? No?”

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

Don meanwhile is arguing with the Silhouette, getting it to cut the tee shirt designs that I’ve made. I told him that if he can’t get it figured out, I can ask on Reddit, and hope someone has some ideas. He’s successfully made four, but for some reason number five is being argumentative.

Like I told him, I knew that things like this would come up. That’s why we’re practicing now, before we try to sell any shirts or stickers. Imagine how much worse it would be if we had a customer waiting.

So this is a good thing.

I could help of course. I could look the whole situation over, Google things, and come up with ideas. But historically, when I do that, he gets mad. If he feels that a given job is his he doesn’t like having help. He wants to overcome whatever problems he might run into by himself.

So I’m offering to make him food, and fetching him ibuprofen, and trying to be supportive. I’m not good at it, but I’m making an effort.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

And now I should get in the shower.

But I don’t want to. I want to put the stupid headset on and make giant crystals, and trees, and a life size dragon.

Wish me luck on dragging myself to the bathroom instead.


Forest Firefly February 25, 2023

I could see myself relaxing around that fireplace. :)

Sleepy-Eyed John February 25, 2023

life-size dragon!?!

It's weird, cuz it's like you're looking at it.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.