Tired of tears-- 98 days until Graduation!!! in My life

  • Feb. 7, 2023, 12:29 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Also, tired of panic attacks. Just tired.

When I’m 35, what do I want to be? An experienced attorney or an inexperienced engineer? The thought of starting all over again… THIRD CAREER NOW… is just… I can’t bear it. I would definitely prefer the money made by an experienced attorney than an inexperienced engineer, though. But will I be happy? There’s this sense that life is too short to be unhappy when I can just choose to do something else, but there’s also– I don’t want to take away the money that I could spend on my kids, or the time.

Screw parents. When I have kids, I’m going to let them do what they want, as long as they work hard. Work hard, on anything, but work hard. I won’t tell them to not do something that they like just because (I judge that) they don’t have the talent for it. I WILL tell them the likelihood of success and the lifestyle that they’re embracing, as much as I know, but I will leave the decision to them. I won’t shame and belittle my kids. I won’t go out of my way to make them feel ugly, stupid, and useless.

I don’t want them to turn out like me.

https://www.careershifters.org/expert-advice/how-to-change-career-when-youve-no-idea-what-to-do-next
“Richard, it’s like you’re standing in a forest and you have a number of tracks in front of you. But you’re paralysed because you don’t want to make a mistake. And the challenge is: if you don’t take any of the paths, you’re never going to get out of the forest. If you take one of them, it may not be the right track initially, but you can course-correct.”

“As Seth Godin talks about, I was stepping into different worlds – sparking ideas and, at the same time, crossing off possibilities, rather than leaving them as open questions in my mind.”


Comments are closed.

No comments.

Comments are closed.