Balls Deep in Boxes in These Foolish Things

  • Jan. 26, 2023, 10:15 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

So the move happened, and it actually went quite well!

I’d asked the moving company to please send the same team who’d packed me up and took my things to storage. This team was lead by a very thorough guy named Luis who took apart my complicated but glorious bed and wrapped all of my things with tender loving care.

But on the night before the move, the moving company advised me via email that the team only does local moves and that they’d be sending another “experienced” team that would help me with my move. I answered back that it was such a bummer because Luis’s team had done such an amazing job and asked if the new team could please talk with Luis about my things - especially about putting the bed back together because there are SO many pieces and parts.

Honestly, why would movers even care about things like that? Right? It’s only stuff and they are running a business.

But at 7am on my moving day, the moving company sent me an email telling me that Luis and team would now be doing my move! I was so pleased and replied to the moving company that they are SOLID in my book and that I’d already recommended them to people, but I’d be recommending them to anyone and everyone from here on out.

As it turns out, it was supposed to be Luis’s day off! I had no idea and he didn’t let me know until after he and his partner had completed the move. I felt terrible, but he told me that it actually turned out better for him (not sure why, he didn’t explain), and I let him know how much I appreciated all of their hard work and amazing care.

And of course, there was a spot in the paperwork to tip them accordingly.

And then they were gone and my new place was filled with the bajillion boxes I’d hastily packed after the Great Apartment Flood of 2022 and during a horrible sickness that was likely Covid.

I was fully prepared to feel absolutely let down that the place was definitely NOT The Treehouse, but you know what? I actually felt JOY in the thought that this place was a fresh new opportunity!

And I was relieved by the fact that I have three weeks to get myself together before I start working again!

And it was at just about that very moment that the rainy clouds opened up to beautiful sunshine that warmed my new balcony and I celebrated that sun with a little break to love on Martini and soak it all in.

So I’ve now been unpacking and getting my act together for the past couple of days. With every task I have on my list (set up payment portals, get my internet connected, get my washer and dryer delivered and hooked up, etc. etc.) some kind of dumb SNAFU happens, but with every bump in the road I keep telling myself that things are going to work out just fine and you know what? EVERYthing has been falling right into place!

Now don’t get me wrong, it seems like everything is a struggle and maybe harder or more complicated than it needs to be, but literally everything ends up working itself out in the way that is usually even better than I had planned!

I am happy. Happy unpacking all of my wild-ass boxes that are sometimes a full-on surprise. You know I followed some TikTok hacks that I’d seen where you pack all of your fragile items in clothes (especially packing glasses in socks!) or towels so that you end up using fewer boxes and your glasses and dishes and other breakable items are even better cushioned than they would be had you packed them in paper/bubble wrap, etc.

There’s a LOT left to do, and I’m trying to let this place name itself, but as I was setting up my internet last night I tried to think of a cool name for my Wi-Fi, and the only thing I could think of was…

The Place.

And so there you go. This must be The Place!!

I’m now tucked in my expertly assembled bed. Martini is curled up at the foot on her blankie. Everything is as it should be right now.

Tomorrow I will continue with the unpacking. I need to get more shelf liners (I’d gotten some this morning, but I didn’t get enough) and I’ll keep on going and start prepping for all of the visitors I’m about to have.

Oh! And I’ve already met one of my next door neighbors. It’s a couple with a 2-year old little girl and was told to come over anytime if I need anything. Nice!

Like I said in an Instagram post yesterday, so far, soooooo good.

Goodnight,
GS


Satine January 26, 2023

Welcome home!

Ginger Snap Satine ⋅ January 26, 2023

Thanks! I feel at home already!

colder January 26, 2023

Nice! Nothing I love more than a clean slate. I hope this place is filled with a lot of happiness.

Jinn January 27, 2023

I am so glad The Place is making you happy .
What kind of dog is Martini ?

Complicated Disaster January 27, 2023

Wowsers! That's some amazing customer service! I'm so glad you feel at home there! xx

WhatDreamsMayCome January 29, 2023

Cool! ;-)
Good taste on the bed!

plushcreep January 29, 2023

Umm, does Luis's crew do work in Wisconsin??

Gangleri January 29, 2023

I remember the first time my father tipped a moving company. I was in shock, but I get it.

Serin January 30, 2023

This may be the first positive moving company story I've heard.

And your pleasure is warming. :) Welcome to your Place

Fawkes Gal January 30, 2023

It's so nice when something that could be so stressful turns out to be a positive experience. <3

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.