Heading Out in These Foolish Things

  • Jan. 23, 2023, 8:55 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

After a pretty full few days of visiting friends and family and checking things off my lists, I’m going to be heading out today. I have been staying at the one and only [Athena]’s place and I’m a little blue that this time is coming to an end, but yes, it’s time.

I’ll get my things together, walk the dog, head to Lovely’s to hug her sweet neck, and then head on down the road.

I got to do the following during my in-between week, and I’m grateful:

  • Celebrate my dad’s 84th birthday and a stay at the lake with my mom and the rest of the fam
  • Walk the city trail many times! I will miss the trail but expect to find many, many new trails in my new surroundings
  • Do a little bit of shopping for household goods (need new rugs due to flood damage and trying to put together a new outdoor living room for my new balcony, which will fit more than the Treehouse balcony)
  • Meet with my financial advisor- always confuses me!
  • Meet my friend Cindy for coffee/tea and a good chat about the future (and healthy living)
  • Meet with all my docs and have good plans set up with them
  • Buy a new washer/dryer because my new place does not provide. This was a bigger purchase than I’d planned, but now I’m excited to do laundry when I land!
  • Meet with a former vendor who has been one of my biggest cheerleaders. He met me at a fun outdoor place and we sat in front of a fire and drank Virgin Marys and had good chats! You never know where you’ll end up and it’s good to keep in contact with vendors (that you like!).
  • Walks in my old city park in my old downtown neighborhood
  • A good, good lunch with Marce and her dog
  • A fantastic brunch with a few of the old brunch gang. I will miss the brunch club dearly.
  • Celebrate the Lunar New Year back at the fam’s place - my SiL is Chinese and she has several Chinese friends in the neighborhood. It was a fun party, yet as disorganized as I’d imagined. Still, glad I went.
  • Meet my buddy Karl and his new fiance (they got engaged on Christmas Eve) for coffee and a dog walk
  • Many, many goodbyes but many MORE thoughts and sentiments from friends and family about how this move is going to be amazing for me

Looks like I’m ready. Time to pack everything up and GO!
GS


Last updated January 23, 2023


Complicated Disaster January 23, 2023

Good times! xx

Ginger Snap Complicated Disaster ⋅ January 23, 2023

YES! What a ride!

Athena January 23, 2023

And she’s off!

Ginger Snap Athena ⋅ January 23, 2023

Off like a... what? I don't even know what I'm off like. A dress? A wig? A cougar? 🤣🤣🤣

bobbi01 January 23, 2023

Scary and exciting in equal measures. You will be ready for a rest!

Ginger Snap bobbi01 ⋅ January 23, 2023

You're right! I don't want to rest until I'm kinda settled in...and by that time I'll be starting my new job! 🤣

Jinn January 24, 2023

Wishing you great good fortune and happiness in your new home and job.

Gangleri January 25, 2023

That’s a pretty nice looking list of things.

WhatDreamsMayCome January 25, 2023

I'm tired from just reading your list. Good you got it all done!

pandora January 26, 2023

Wow, so exciting!

Serin January 30, 2023

Happy Birthday to your dad.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.