The In-Between in These Foolish Things

  • Jan. 17, 2023, 3:28 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Greetings from my hotel room back in [my old city]. I’m trying to tie up loose ends here, do my 3-month doctor visits and see as many people as I can before I leave. It’s a weird feeling.

The man in the room next door started bellowing at 6am on the dot. I guess it was time to wake up. He is so freaking loud and I think there’s a kid over there too. I had to turn up the news on TV just to think and I don’t like writing with the TV on, but there’s no other way to do this. It’s no biggie, but if he’s this loud tonight, I’m going to move rooms.

OH! I just figured it out! He’s on an international Zoom call and he’s talking with someone in Asia or India or something. I was thinking there was a kid in the room because he was talking very slowly and articulating carefully, but that’s also what I do when I’m on an international video chat and I’m speaking with someone who doesn’t speak English naturally.

Okay, he’s done. Now I can think!!

Anyway, yes. Here I am. There are many things to get done and yet, I also feel like I have a bit of time on my hands. I have scheduled my movers for one week from today - January 24. Exciting!

Best Bud is coming to visit on the Saturday after I move (the 28th) because her son is auditioning for a music scholarship at the university in [my new city]. I’m looking forward to that because her husband is coming with them and he’s in construction and can help me with some handyman stuff - hopefully he can mount my TVs and I’m thinking about getting a hanging daybed for the deck or some kind of porch swing type thing for my new outdoor living room.

Hopefully we’ll be able to go somewhere fun for lunch or dinner while they are in town. I literally know nothing about the area where I’m moving! It’s kind of crazy. But I know it will be a good home base to be able to slowly figure out my bearings.

I have also decided to start looking into the dating apps as a way to meet people and discover new places. I took a peek into Bumble and the pickings look decent. I mean, at least they are ALL NEW to me.

So last I wrote I was checking out of my cute Airbnb in the cool part of town and then heading to my mom and dad’s place at the lake for the weekend. Had a lovely time with my parents, even though their little apartment in the house depressed me. They like it just fine and it works for them, but I hate to see the place messy like it was. They are no longer able to clean like they used to. In fact, my mother can’t do anything - she can’t cook or clean or walk around really, leaving my dad to do everything. So I spent a good chunk of my time there cleaning. At least I left it nice and they were happy.

But the other part of it is, you know my brother and SiL and niece live in the bigger part of the house and they are just utter chaos. The house is cluttered and dark. I know they spent some time cleaning up a bedroom for me to stay, but I opted out and stayed in an Airbnb in their neighborhood. I know I offended my SiL, but my brother was pretty sick all weekend and didn’t do anything with us, and I wouldn’t have wanted to stay in a sick house anyway.

I’m so glad they are there in case anything happens with mom and dad, but MAN, do they live differently than I do. I don’t remember us being a messy family. I mean, I didn’t grow up in a neat freak household, but it was always pleasant and clean. And I’m not saying that it’s not sanitary - it’s just not organized. It’s cluttered. It agitates me.

I’m just happy that mom and dad are happy. And they want to come visit as soon as they can, so I’m relieved that I was able to find a place that has no stairs and no complicated lobbies and hallways like my last place.

And now I’m in this hotel for a the week.

Yesterday I spent the day walking in some of my favorite areas with Martini. We walked the city trail and I took myself to lunch on an outdoor patio in an area that I love and people watched.

And then, because I’m staying close to the old Treehouse, I took Martini for another walk in the park in front of the Treehouse and ran into my former next door neighbor! We had a nice chat. She told me that they are working on my old place - tearing it down to the studs. I ran into another neighbor who I used to see on my walks and we had a good talk as well. I felt closure with the Treehouse by the time we were done with the walk.

Today I’m going to see Maria. We’ll go for a walk and talk and hopefully it won’t be sad. I’m also going to see my friend Cindy for coffee/tea later this afternoon.

Tomorrow I’ll go see my doctor teams. I’ll let them know my situation and tell them what’s going on.

Thursday I’ll see my financial advisor and then go out with my friend Jackie. She’s having a New Year’s get together with girlfriends.

Friday I’ll have lunch with Marce and we’ll take our dogs to the dog-friendly restaurant.

Saturday I’m hosting a goodbye brunch.

Sunday - who knows? Walk the lake? Maybe go see mom and dad again?

Monday - whatever I’ve missed

Tuesday - MOVING DAY!

It’s all so exciting but scary to me. I know it’s the right move and I need to keep pushing forward, but I can’t help looking back every now and then. Why is this hard and easy at the same time?

OK. Gotta get up and get going!

Wish me luck and good energy!
GS


Complicated Disaster January 17, 2023

I don't suppose your next door room dude was very happy to be on a call at 6am either!
Glad your parents are happy with the house arrangements. Say Hi from me please!
And wow! Just as well you are moving if they have gutted the Treehouse!
xx

WhatDreamsMayCome January 17, 2023

Big exciting changes. Good luck!

Ginger Snap WhatDreamsMayCome ⋅ January 17, 2023

Thank you!!

CharminglyNeurotic January 17, 2023

THIS IS SO EXCITING! I cannot wait for the very first (new city) Rate-A-Date!!!

Ginger Snap CharminglyNeurotic ⋅ January 17, 2023

Oh my gosh, I didn't even think of the RADs I'm gonna do! Yes!!

CharminglyNeurotic January 17, 2023

BTW, I keep thinking (not sure if you are familiar with Tarot Cards) but that the Universe gave you the Tower Card - meaning everything gets shaken up and torn down so you can start completely anew. Drastic and stressful, for sure, but also a happy rebirth card.

Ginger Snap CharminglyNeurotic ⋅ January 17, 2023

And I love this! I'm really not familiar with Tarot, but I do know that my sign as a Scorpio also has a phoenix rising element to it. Apparently, I am supposed to reinvent my life over and over during my lifetime. So, I guess it was time... thank you for this insight!

colder January 17, 2023

It really looks like things are trending up and up! You’ve had a lot to live through in just a couple of years, I hope the next few are a time where life is placid and beautiful.

bobbi01 January 17, 2023

You have probably set a good precedent not staying with them when you visit. It sounds like way too much stress, and you clearly already have enough going on.

Serin January 20, 2023

Good luck

Deleted user January 20, 2023

If it's a city, Meet-Up might be a good way to meet people. It's how I met my hiking group, which has turned into a circle of friends. Always good to form a posse of mixed company. For me, it works best when there is some kind of activity involved that affords the ability to talk to people but doesn't consume all mental energy, like hiking, shooting pool. Meaning not the ones where people just stand around, like the networking one you did that was super awkward, and not the ones that are so activity-focused you can't interact with others much, like canoeing or movies.

plushcreep January 22, 2023

Good luck! Good energy!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.