Found a Place in These Foolish Things

  • Jan. 13, 2023, 10:51 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Ok, y’all. I found a place. It’s not the Treehouse, but nothing’s going to be that same space - and it shouldn’t be, you know?

It’s a long story, but I spent pretty much ALL week searching for something perfect. I went into so many different neighborhoods my head was spinning. I don’t know the neighborhoods in this city!

I went to places that looked like the hood, and I went into the ritzy hills and I went to all parts North, South, East and West. I found little places and larger spaces and sprinkles of culture and strange lands. I saw dogs and cats and even deer (but no cows or sheep).

I used an apartment hunter and then found a realtor who confused me EVEN MORE with all of the places he was zipping me around to. My head was spinning, spinning, spinning! These hunters are not allowed to tell you about safety in different neighborhoods, but the one guy sent me some links to crime websites and just kept saying, “look at your crime statistics”. WTF?

In the end, I went back to one of the first places I saw back at the end of December. It is the one that is pretty close to my new office and sits on the edge of the big city park. Again, it’s different and I know it will be a very, very good spot as a homebase for me to explore all that this [new city] has to offer. It will be perfect for friends and family to come stay as it is another 2 bedroom and it overlooks the woods and a creek…lots and lots of nature in the middle of a fairly bustling area.

I am now in the midst of setting up the movers to take my stuff out of storage and move it here. I have so, so much to do between now and January 24 (the day I told the movers to come). I am very glad I’m not starting the new job until February 15! And yes, I know I need to tell you about the gig, but I’m doing one thing at a time and the biggest thing is to get myself into this new place. And then I will tell you all about it!

And now, I need to check myself out of this airbnb and head on to the lake to see my parents over the weekend. The plan is to see my fam this weekend and then spend the week in my [old city] tying up loose ends and seeing my medical team and hopefully seeing as many friends as possible and saying goodbye for now.

And then the move will happen the following week. What a whirlwind this has been!

I texted with [Athena] last night and she asked me if I’d checked out the possible dating scene here and I told her that I hadn’t really thought about it, but that I’d flirted with a woman who was working at the pizza place where I went for dinner earlier this week. And then I went back the next night because it was so good and convenient and she was there and bought my dinner!

So that was cool.

And then this morning I went to this fun coffee joint and flirted with a dude and got his contact information and that was fun.

So who knows! It’s going to get real interesting!

Gotta run! It’s checkout time!
Love,
GS


Complicated Disaster January 13, 2023

Ohhhhhh! #IFlirtForPizza lol xx

Ginger Snap Complicated Disaster ⋅ January 14, 2023

hahaha! So true!

Deleted user January 13, 2023

nice glad you found a place you like.

Ginger Snap Deleted user ⋅ January 14, 2023

Thank you! I'm happy!

CharminglyNeurotic January 13, 2023

will you be close enough to your original cancer and aneurysm dr teams or will you have to find all new ones to get checkups for those two issues?

Ginger Snap CharminglyNeurotic ⋅ January 14, 2023

Yes, I plan on keeping my medical team in tact. I have started scheduling them all on the same day every three months. Hope to be able to keep this up!!

kansasgirl January 13, 2023

Yay, for new beginnings!

Ginger Snap kansasgirl ⋅ January 14, 2023

HUGE!! And thank you!

colder January 13, 2023

Glad things are starting to lace up there!

Ginger Snap colder ⋅ January 14, 2023

Me too! I'm getting very, very excited! Thank you so much for always being there for me! You are such an amazing person. ❤️

colder Ginger Snap ⋅ January 14, 2023

You are a lot of fun to cheer for 🙂

Florentine January 13, 2023

I am so excited for your new life chapter and can’t wait to hear how you make new city your own! ❤️

Ginger Snap Florentine ⋅ January 14, 2023

Ahhh, thank you, Florentine! I'm super excited and majorly scared, but this is just the thing I needed!!

a girl thinking January 13, 2023

❤️

Ginger Snap a girl thinking ⋅ January 14, 2023

❤️❤️❤️

pandora January 13, 2023

You sound GREAT! I'm so excited to read along!

Ginger Snap pandora ⋅ January 14, 2023

Thank you!! Thank you so much for being here!

Jinn January 13, 2023

I am glad you found a place you like!

Ginger Snap Jinn ⋅ January 14, 2023

Me too - relief!!

bobbi01 January 14, 2023

How exciting! Ginger has her MOJO back!

Ginger Snap bobbi01 ⋅ January 14, 2023

I sure would like to think so!! ❤️

WhatDreamsMayCome January 14, 2023

Let the new year usher in your new life in the most wonderful way!

Ginger Snap WhatDreamsMayCome ⋅ January 14, 2023

I am excited to do just that!

Kate January 14, 2023

Pictures!

plushcreep January 17, 2023

I can't be the only one hoping for future pizza woman stories!

Serin January 19, 2023

This is a great entry to read, because of the joy in it. How do you figure out what the new place will be called?

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.