Adult protective services in Two chicks talking while having coffee

  • Jan. 3, 2023, 2:19 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I had coffee with M and Mar.

This week Mar kept telling me that M wanted to move out of her moms house because her brother is a dick.

So… I looked up section 8 in Illinois and found out what she needed and then drove over to have coffee.

I gave her the info.
It’s her choice to follow up.

The thing is… M has told Mar and I over the months some things about her brother and the home life that she hasn’t told us completely before.

When he dad died like 6-7 years ago the brother convinced her to just agree to transfer his money to the brothers account. He convinced her by saying that she can’t have money due to her mental health status and social security disability, and because she didn’t know better she agreed to transfer it, and here we are. It was something like $2 million.

This guy has flown three times to Prague to meet up with an online sex worker. He then takes her money and brings it to the United States to “invest” for her. Apparently they talk on the phone all day nonstop.

When M asked her brother about their money he refuses to show her the stocks. One time recently he apparently kicked her door and left a big hole. She mentioned one time and I’m not sure when, that he held her by the neck.

He then recently borrowed $75,000 from their mom who is in her 70s but she’s really a narcissistic bitch. But she loaned him the money. So now… the narcissists and abusers are basically around M and all she can do is just walk in the door and go to her room.

If she tries to cool in the kitchen the mom hovers and starts yelling about messes. So she can’t even cook.

And there two dogs with no training who bite when she tries to leave, rip her clothes.

So today, she said yes she’s mentioned leaving but she gets anxiety from everything. Phone calls and texts or anything just overwhelm her and she gets panic attacks.

So when I called the adult services, I just asked to speak to someone and a lady said “me.” So I filled her in on the situation and the brother.

She said the state of Illinois would be able to get M into her own place, and take all assets from the brother because someone with a diagnosed mental Illness cannot sign paperwork. They would provide her with help paying bills, housekeeping, financial help, all of it… but she would have to give consent and let her wishes be known.

So I texted M to let her know that she doesn’t need section 8 and just call this lady and they’ll help her. No response.

Which is typical M. I bet she’s in her room passed out.

My mom thinks the lady will research the family and hunt the brother down and see what he’s been up to. I guess she says the social workers only get a week to follow up with people. So we’ll see if anything happens.

The thing is, I had to hear it from M not Mar. I’m a mandated reporter. If M says something is happening I have to report this if I feel like she’s in danger and today I felt like I had to do something because maybe M isn’t able to recognize the abuse since she thinks it’s normal. But Mar told me it’s messed up and he thinks something had to be done. So I looked up the number and here we are.

The social worker did say it’s not like kids. Adults aren’t removed because we call. The adult is contacted and has choice.

I appreciate that.

But dang she better take the offer to move out.


Last updated January 03, 2023


Jodie January 03, 2023

I sure hope she gets out before anyone there really tried to hurt her. I wish I was the fly on the wall and saw everything. I am so sorry there are still people in this world that abuse others.

Jinn January 04, 2023

I think she could have her brother prosecuted over the money. If she had that much money , she did not need disability anyway. It’s probably too late now to get any of it back but he should go to jail.

Stumble Bee 🐝 Jinn ⋅ January 04, 2023

It all depends if she calls this lady because they’ll freeze all his accounts and take the money back. She might not get all of it back but the state would prosecute him.

Jinn Stumble Bee 🐝 ⋅ January 04, 2023

I hope she does. He used fear to manipulate her. The state will probably jump on that .

Stumble Bee 🐝 Jinn ⋅ January 04, 2023

👍

Ferret Mom January 10, 2023

Goddamn. I hope she moves out.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.