A Pictorial November in Scottish Meanderings

  • Dec. 30, 2022, 11:55 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I can't stand the thought of not managing to complete the year with an entry for each month so I'm determined to get November's entry in today at least then I might cheat and do a short entry for December in the first few days of the New Year. I'm going to try and do November in pictures/videos without much text because I'm feeling pretty ghastly today so maybe that way I'll get it done.

So the month started off with a late Hallowe'en disco for the kids - they had them all on the same night so we took Lilah and Ruari to theirs and Lily came to help then stayed on for her one.

We had a Not Very Scary Bat.


A VERY Scary Clown.


And a pretty princess in a dress which lit up which the owner was very taken with.


When you're being a good big sister but your little brother's friend just has Something Very Important to tell him (about a minute in if you can't be bothered watching it all).

That same weekend there was not one but TWO firework displays! I was stoked to be able to get to the City's main event down at the beach which I haven't been well enough to go to for a few years and have had to make do with seeing a very distant view from my bedroom window - I watched it with tears in my eyes at just being able to be there. Then the following night Nikki & the kids & I went to one near their village which was actually just as good.

My garden gnome made himself a bed of autumn leaves and told me to wake him up when spring arrives!


I got freaked out by part of 'The Vow' series on HBO (can recommend it - I was able to watch it on Sky but it may not be on there now) where one of the folk involved was being interviewed and the Very Freaky Statue of an old woman behind her wasn't mentioned at all as though it was entirely normal to have such a thing in your sitting room!


And there was a manic mouse appeared in my bedroom!


We went to a Christmas Fayre and I was proud of Lily - she wanted to help out rather than trail round the stalls with us so she sold Christmas cookie dough with her pal Brandon.


And Ruari had a chat with Santa to make sure he knew what he was bringing him on the Day.


And amidst all the glaring lights of Christmas I rather liked this simple nativity scene outside the local Baptist Church.


Health is much the same - I made another drop in dose a couple of nights ago so suffering a bit at the moment - hopefully that'll settle down within 2 or 3 weeks.

My brother, Ian, whose health has deteriorated since getting COVID in May, is improving very slowly but can't walk unaided yet - however him and Margaret have managed up to Inverness with friends for a few days over Hogmanay and the New Year so I'm really pleased about that because they've had to cancel similar plans at the same time of the year for the last 3 years due to COVID and ill health. They won't be dancing (Margaret had a hip operation in October) but will be delighted to be part of the festivities.

And Mike, my other brother who has also been plagued by severe health problems this year, has made it out to Sri Lanka for Christmas and been joined by his two boys and their families. Jenny, his wife, who died last year, came from Sri Lanka so he took her ashes out with him and they scattered them in the sea over there. I was so glad he made it - it was touch and go for a while.

And that's me for now - I've not even managed to read all your comments from my last entry but right now Tesco calls as I have nothing very exciting in my fridge for tea! Hopefully after New Year I'll be a bit more organised.

Hope you've all had a lovely Christmas!🤶🏻



thesunnyabyss December 30, 2022

What great photos Ruari is such a cutie, that smile, and the girls costumes are awesome!!!

Sounds like life is ticking along, take care, be well!!!

Justlovely January 01, 2023

Love this. Hope you got a card from me by now. :-)

Marg Justlovely ⋅ January 25, 2023

I did thank you! And it's on my kitchen counter - that's where things go to sit and bug me so much that I eventually get round to doing something about them - although I think your last letter sat there for months so that system clearly didn't work! Hopefully this year I'll make better progress though!😁

NorthernSeeker January 01, 2023

Very scary clown indeed! The princess and the bat look great too. Nice to be able to watch the fireworks which obviously meant a lot to you. I am not brave enough for shows like "The Vow". Sorry to hear your brothers are doing so poorly with their health. Are you almost down to the amount you need to talk or will the tapering off go on a while longer? Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.

Marg NorthernSeeker ⋅ January 25, 2023

The tapering will go on for about another year, maybe longer. Which is very disheartening I must admit but it needs to be done at that rate to avoid the worst of the withdrawal symptoms. I don't mind as long as I'm functional to a degree and psychologically every little drop makes me feel a little nearer to the end goal😊

mcbee January 02, 2023

The children are just precious!!

noko January 02, 2023

The young people are growing and it is such a delight to “see” them. I appreciate your posts whenever you are equipped to make them.

kmh. January 05, 2023

What a lovely November!
Wishing you all my very best for a wonderful 2023 xx

Serin January 08, 2023

Glad everyone is doing as well as they are.

I confess to jealousy of little kids with the flashing lights in their shoes. :) They don't know how cool it actually is.

Marg Serin ⋅ January 25, 2023

I'm the same! I would love a pair😁

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.