The bitter cold fact and symbol of this December’s weather bomb in Daydreaming on the Porch

  • Dec. 30, 2022, midnight
  • |
  • Public

A few nights ago for the second night in a row, we had temperatures well below freezing. At 18 degrees it was a record, or near record low. We rarely ever have cold like that here in Charleston, so there is a sort of urgency in the air, especially at night.

It’s cold beyond bracing. It’s cold even with a flannel shirt, sweatshirt and heavy coat on. One senses the cold permeating the atmosphere and chilling one’s body from deep within. That to me is really scary. Getting cold at night in my apartment because it’s extremely cold, and I’ve heeded the power company’s request to lower the thermostat to prevent the need for rolling power blackouts, makes me realize how much we can be at the mercy of the weather. I reiterate, we’re simply not used to such bitter cold this far south.

Sometimes I actually enjoy it when I’m outside and it’s very cold, but I’m bundled up good in layers of clothing, have a nice snug cap on, and feel warm and comfortable. Until I don’t any longer, and the cold starts to seep in, and that miserable feeling of pushing against the limits of tolerance. What was once a pleasant and invigorating late afternoon walk, has turned into something else — a quickened pace and loss of any further desire to experience the ambience of winter as it just was but which has suddenly become a signal of danger, of unpreparedness, foreboding.

Meanwhile, a group of geese fly overhead to the small lake, oblivious to my sense of urgency to get back to my car. My imagination kicks in. I think too much. Winter has turned its benign face away from me and darkness is has returned.

It’s at that point that I can sometimes feel like I’m dying. If I get cold at night and don’t have enough cover on, I begin shaking and drawing my meager blanket tighter until finally I stagger up and retrieve a heavy blanket and curl up in it in a fetal position. It analogous to when you have a fever and chills and are shaking and wrapping up to keep warm. Two different causes for an attack on the body with remarkable similarities. It’s the body’s fight or flight response.

When I get in my car and get the heat started after a walk in such rare, bitter cold, warmth to my body is momentarily restored and I begin to relax. Similarly, when I feel the chill from outside in my little bedroom fortress, and have taken refuge in a heavy blanket and turned up the thermostat, relief again seeps in as the cold skulks away, defeated.

Excessive heat and cold are hard, physical reality, but also are symbols, if not harbingers of dying and death, pure and simple. Nature’s unforgiving side. Just look at what happened in Buffalo, NY this past week. It must have been terrifying, even for people accustomed to monster snow storms and blizzards. This time a lot of people died. Additionally, large swaths of the country were beset by fierce blizzards and unrelenting, record cold. I would not last long up there.


Last updated December 30, 2022


Jinn December 30, 2022

We also had bitter cold ; in the negatives day after day but only 2 inches of snow. We were out in the cold on the 23rd for too long; my car would not start.:-( and I got a taste what being out too long feels like. It’s painful for awhile and then you start to feel numb. By that time we were rescued but it was a little scary. I don’t tolerate cold well anymore because of my spine . I sleep with a heating pad . When I get chilled my muscles and vertebrae freeze up and I can hardly move without extreme pain. I liken it to being like The Tin Man. It makes me feel like I am 90 .

ConnieK December 30, 2022

When it turns bitter cold, I hunker down. What I cannot understand is WHY all those people in Buffalo went out in that weather. I understand medical or emergency work/accidents, but many were older people. People go out in hurricanes, too. It's crazy to me.

Oswego ConnieK ⋅ December 30, 2022

I’m with you on that. It boggles the mind why so many people were actually out in that crazy weather. I guess when you’ve lived with that kind of snow and blizzards all your life, there’s an invincibility factor. But climate is changing. That stuff is going to be more much severe than it ever was before, as we saw with devastating effect in Buffalo. .

And it was seriously cold here on the coast of SC. I’m afraid that deep freeze — and the duration, especially — has wiped out a lot of our plants. There’s a lot of stuff that’s going to be cut back. We’ll see what comes back in the Spring. So far, I’m relieved that the azaleas and camellias seem to have weathered it. I’m already seeing some camellia buds steer to bloom.😌

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.