Two more weeks gone. in A small but passable life.

  • Dec. 22, 2022, 7:47 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Yeah, two weeks since an update.

After I’d gotten my last grocery order for 2022 I figured the year end total. It was a grand total of $29.25 per week. Compared to $27.60 per week in 2021. Not too bad. I’d eliminated cheese, chicken, tuna, frozen prepared items, and cookies, cake, pies, ice cream, brownies, and all other crap from the menu. I can still pare more of course.

60% of Americans NEVER eat ANY fruits or vegetables. I’m almost there. I do buy one 1/2 gallon of orange juice every two weeks.

Eggs just hit $6.69 per dozen for Grade AA Large. Nope. Not doing that. No more eggs.

I switched from Sara Lee Honey wheat bread to Kroger sandwich wheat. A three dollar difference. That right there will add up to about $75 savings for a year. Crazy. The Kroger does of course taste and feel like shit. Already stale when bought. Oh well.

I’m still working on the thirty-three bags of coffee that Dottie had given me a year ago. Maybe a dozen or so bags left. I really don’t want to know how much coffee costs right now.

I’m going to renew Instacart for 2023. Why not? Triple Contagion raging and really no desire to go shopping. It’s worked for two years now with no problems.

The weather forecast looks to be warming steadily all this week to eventually reach seventy degrees on Christmas Day. That may be a good day to resume afternoons at the pool. It may even happen today at the forecast sixty-five degrees.

I haven’t left the park in two months. No reason to. I may have to though. I’m almost tapped out of weed. And when I go out for that I’m thinking I may treat myself at the newly built Popeye’s across from Fry’s.

A video call with Daughter and the now six month old Grandson yesterday. He’s really turning into quite the character. Very active. Very vocal. Very, very happy.

So yeah, 2022 winding down. Now that everybody on this rock knows that ANYTHING can happen, maybe 2023 will bring nothing that could rattle anyone more than the the last three years did.

Something to watch for: OpenAI and their ChatGPT. I swooped down a rabbit hole on that one. Everyone always thought that the first big shift would be robots replacing manual labor. Nope, it’s definitely going to be AI replacing EVERYONE who stares at a screen and calls it “work”. Five years, max. Probably the biggest upset socially will be doing away with schools of every kind. No need to spend money on something not needed. Oh, and Google Search is definitely going away.

Anyway, the sun is shining bright today!


AppleGirl December 22, 2022

I spend almost as much in a month on groceries as you spend in a year. 😳. That includes all toiletries, paper products, and animal food too….

Pickled Duck Lips December 22, 2022

It's pretty much what I predicted would happen regarding inflation, gas prices and all that. The only thing that I don't understand is why the stock market hasn't totally crashed yet. That's one thing I was totally wrong about. I thought within a year after the last election, the stock market was going to completely crash, yet it's still chugging along.
What do you pay for lot rent over there? I regret not buying a trailer in a decent park when I had the chance, although around here lot rent prices are averaging around 500 a month, which isn't bad if you own the trailer outright, but with financing that almost doubles the monthly output to live in one.

Neogy Titwhistle Pickled Duck Lips ⋅ December 23, 2022

We're paying $525 per quarter which comes out to $175 per month. Water, trash, and sewer is included, plus all the amenities (pool, hot tub, shops and game rooms, a library, outdoor stuff, ect. And unlike most places, we own our lots (the land). Electric this month was $77. It costs more to heat than to cool. Empty lots are going for about $30,000 or less right now. Not many empties left though. Property taxes on the land and trailer both together is less than $400 a year.

I believe the stock market is overvalued due to companies buying their own stock back. A house of cards? It's down 700+ so far today. It's down nearly 4000 points YTD.

Pickled Duck Lips Neogy Titwhistle ⋅ December 24, 2022

That sounds like a great deal. I've never heard of owning the land in a trailer park only if a person bought land somewhere and put a trailer on it.

Neogy Titwhistle Pickled Duck Lips ⋅ December 25, 2022

Yes, owning lots around here is very rare. This park was set up over twenty-five years ago. At that time there was nothing out here but desert and a wide spot on the highway. And now this tiny bit of dirt is worth quite a bit.

Deleted user December 24, 2022

Dude? You on SS or what? Even on SS I can afford to eat healthy. Then again that is MY choice. I wish you and your family the best of health and happiness.

Neogy Titwhistle Deleted user ⋅ December 25, 2022

I've never paid much attention to what food I eat. I eat just because I have to. Therefore, the cheaper the better.

Deleted user Neogy Titwhistle ⋅ December 25, 2022

Hey bro, if that works for you, COOL! Good health peace and happiness to you and your family :-)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.