Lovely's Birthmas in the Woods in These Foolish Things

  • Dec. 21, 2022, 3:12 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Lovely’s birthday falls very close to Christmas, so she has a party every year and calls it her Birthmas. It’s always a big shindig at her house and lots and lots of people come and there is tons of booze and food and merriment.

This year, Lovely is in the process of moving, so she decided to do something different. She decided to have a girls weekend in a luxury cabin in the woods about 3 1/2 hours north of [my city]. She sent me photos of possible locations, and once I saw that amazingly beautiful cabin, I was ALL IN!

I requested time off work during PRIME holiday shopping season and was thankfully given the whole Friday/Saturday/Sunday time off and headed up to this place on Friday afternoon:

alt text

Can you see little Mini Pearl II in the foreground? Can you see the Christmas tree in the window? Can you imagine how excited I was to get here?!

Well, getting there was more than half the battle. Escaping [my city] on a Friday afternoon before a holiday-ish week was ridiculous. And I stopped in one of the busy burbs to drive through the Chick-fil-a - a RARE occurrence for me, but it just sounded like something good to eat on my drive for some reason - and it took me an hour to get off the highway and around the parking lots and through the drive through and back out onto the highway. It was stressful!

And once I finally got moving and made the 3.5 hour trek into the wooded wilderness, I actually got lost in the little cabin neighborhood! It was kind of scary too because it was about to get dark and I was deep, deep, deeeeeepppp into the forest on these twisty and torn up little gravel roads. The place is so remote that the address doesn’t show up on GPS.

Luckily I was so very close that Lovely and another friend were able to find me via a dropped pin sent via text (thank goodness a text went through!). They got in the car and drove out on the washed out gravel roads to find me and I followed them back to the cabin.

Once we were finally settled in, it was a wonderful, wonderful weekend of staying put. There was soooo much food and drink and activities (hot tub, bonfires, games, etc. etc.) that all eight of us stayed in our warm jammies and no makeup and did not step foot back into civilization the whole time!

It was glorious.

I’m so glad I went. And it was especially nice knowing that I could still laugh and enjoy myself as much as the others even though I was sober (drink-free, gummy/weed free) the whole time while the others all imbibed. I laughed just as much as they did and I felt so much joy just being there.

On Saturday night, we had a manifestation bonfire. We each got two sheets of paper and on one sheet we wrote down what we wanted to let go of and on the other sheet we wrote down what we wanted to manifest and we took turns letting go/manifesting by throwing our lists into the fire one by one, releasing them into the atmosphere.

And then we sang Happy Birthday to Lovely.

And other things - we played Cards Against Humanity and some Christmas blue balls game (long story involving red solo cups, string/ribbon and blue Christmas ornaments. Think SNL’s Dick in a Box skit), and danced and ate and were very, very merry.

And on Sunday morning I got up insanely early to make the drive back to [my city] in time to have brunch with a girlfriend who’d moved away a few years ago and was in town just for the weekend to have Christmas with her in-laws.

Twas a good weekend. I’m grateful to have been invited to this year’s Birthmas.

Lovely stuff,
GS


Last updated December 21, 2022


The Thirsty Oriental December 21, 2022

Sounds awesome!

sudare December 21, 2022

Getting lost - it sounds like a cut from a film. The weekend looks awesome!

At Last December 21, 2022

Sounds amazing, sans the traffic and getting lost! You have such an amazing group of friends.

Athena December 21, 2022

This sounds like balm for the soul. What a marvelous way to end the year.

WhatDreamsMayCome December 21, 2022

Priceless! Excellent way to bring this year to a close.

Fawkes Gal December 21, 2022

Oh that sounds like an amazing time, so glad you got to enjoy that. <3

bobbi01 December 22, 2022

OMG what a gorgeous spot!

plushcreep December 24, 2022

Cabins in the woods are one of my very favorite things. Especially when they include hot tubs.

pandora December 25, 2022

What an amazing weekend adventure! Love the manifestation bonfire!!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.