Updates on Various in These Foolish Things

  • Dec. 15, 2022, 9:41 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Mom and Dad’s Covid: They are better. So much so that they went to my niece’s Christmas music show at her school last night. My niece barely had any symptoms and her school told her she could come back right away. I guess taking Covid tests to show that you’re negative are no longer needed? I didn’t ask. I didn’t argue. You know that my dad had to be adamant about seeing her in the Christmas show. Christmas will go on…

Christmas plans: I am working Christmas Eve until 4:00. Then I’m going to go home and walk the dog and then change and go to a big Christmas Eve party at Maria’s place. I’m so grateful they’ve added me as one of the family because it’s so nice to have a place to go. I’m not going to spend the night at Mom and Dad’s because there’s really no place for me to sleep there anymore. Since my brother’s family moved into the big part of the house, they’ve kind of made it their own, and to be perfectly honest, it’s a mess. I don’t feel comfortable now that they’ve taken over. If I ever have to spend much more time there, I’ll get an AirBnB or stay in a hotel/motel (not much out there) because it’s just not a place where I feel like home, ya know? So I’ll pack my gifts and my dog and head out there sometime Christmas morning and spend a few hours there, have dinner (that no one has planned and I’m not going to take the reigns on this one - but I will figure out something to bring) and head home.

Holiday Retail: I need to write more about this. It’s a love/hate situationship. But I’m glad I’m doing this. My hours tend to be late mornings (11am or so) to early evening-ish (5:30 all the way up to sometimes 8:30 or 9), and I love the folks I work with and sometimes even love the customers. I screw up something at the register on a daily basis, but I learn every time and the customers have almost always been completely patient with me and the managers have been extremely forgiving. And yes, I’m working Christmas Eve, but it’s not considered “holiday pay” so I won’t be able to cash in on the big bucks. Oh well. It’s all essentially fun and games anyway, and I’ve been able to grab a few gifts at great prices.

Real Job: Things are moving. I just had another video chat with a company I’ve interviewed with before. They’ve circled back. This may be the one. More to follow…I have to leave for my retail job now!

GS


Nash December 15, 2022

If any day is holiday pay it should be Christmas Eve. Still sounds like you are doing well.

Ginger Snap Nash ⋅ December 15, 2022

Right?! But not for a lot of retail gigs, I guess. Seems like the only holiday pay they give is on New Years Day.

And thanks! It feels like things are going well!

bobbi01 December 15, 2022

Way nicer for you and Martini to spend your Christmas night home and comfy in your own beds.

Ginger Snap bobbi01 ⋅ December 15, 2022

Make that, our own BED (singular, ha! I love that she sleeps in my bed).

colder December 15, 2022

Hooray for the one company/job that might be the one!

Ginger Snap colder ⋅ December 15, 2022

We shall see!!!!!

WhatDreamsMayCome December 16, 2022

You do sound good.
Glad to hear your parents are well.

sudare December 16, 2022

I was sorry to hear your family got Covid, but glad they are getting better now!

plushcreep December 17, 2022

Christmas Eve should most definitely be holiday pay!

Serin December 22, 2022

Glad your folks are okay

Ginger Snap Serin ⋅ December 22, 2022

Thank you - me too!!

Jinn December 22, 2022

I am glad your parents recovered well.
It’s annoying when your parents house gets taken over. It’s happened with my Dad’s house too .

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.