Updates on the 'Vid in These Foolish Things

  • Dec. 8, 2022, 7:52 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Dad got it. Two days later, Mom tested positive.

Today my niece tested positive, making my dad bawl his big ol’ heart out because she’ll be missing her school concert and other Christmas-y kid things.

Medically speaking, everyone seems fine because of the Paxlovid and other meds, but oh, the hearts that are broken just about kill me.

Mom is totally fatigued and was coughing a lot, but I think the meds are knocking that down. Dad is feeling a million times better already. My niece is ok, I think. I just heard that she was sniffly.

I’m just so sick of thinking about getting sick. But I truly think the bivalent booster might just be the answer. How many of us have gotten the ‘Vid after the bivalent booster? Anyone know?

Fingers crossed,
GS


Athena December 08, 2022

https://www.latimes.com/california/story/2022-12-03/updated-covid-19-boosters-give-significant-additional-protection?_amp=true

Short answer per this article: the shot increases protection by 31-48%

Ginger Snap Athena ⋅ December 08, 2022

Thank you! Great info and confirms that the bivalent booster is WORTH IT.

colder December 08, 2022

We had it in the spring, then I was boosted this summer-ish when they became available. H was boosted after she was ready following the birth. So far no sickness in my house, even though all sorts of things are rampant in this area.

It wasn’t bad when we had the Rona before, but we got boosted wanting to do anything we could to keep baby C safe while he’s little.

Ginger Snap colder ⋅ December 09, 2022

Was your booster the bivalent booster? I’m so glad you’re keeping safe 💕

colder Ginger Snap ⋅ December 09, 2022 (edited December 09, 2022)

Edited

Yeah, we got the newer/updated ones. Thanks - meee toooo !

Complicated Disaster December 09, 2022

I'm so happy that everyone is coping OK! I had the bivalent booster but only a few weeks ago so I have no idea how effective it is. Hopefully it'll keep me safe in the US and over Christmas! xx

Ginger Snap Complicated Disaster ⋅ December 09, 2022

Yes, I hope so too. Covid seems to be on the rise all over the place again lately. When are you coming back to the US?

Complicated Disaster Ginger Snap ⋅ December 10, 2022

I'm back on Monday for a week! Xx

Parliament December 09, 2022

I got the bivalent booster, and caught COVID two weeks later. But ... I kissed my mom when she was positive and didn't know it. I was fatigued and I had a productive cough but started to work again from home three days later. It took me two weeks before I started to feel myself again. I broke out in the occasional rash, and I did lose smell for a few days after about two weeks. Today, all that remains is a little, phlegmmy cough that is on its last legs (a month later).

Ginger Snap Parliament ⋅ December 09, 2022

Wow! I can't believe you actually got it two weeks later! That's a bummer. I'm glad you're almost over it now. How long did you test positive?

Lux Lunae December 09, 2022

I wasn't going to get the bi-valent booster but this is convincing me to go ahead with it.

Ginger Snap Lux Lunae ⋅ December 09, 2022

Yes, I wholeheartedly recommend it!

bobbi01 December 09, 2022

Hope they continue to improve rapidly.

Ginger Snap bobbi01 ⋅ December 09, 2022

Thank you! Me too!

Deleted user December 09, 2022

Got the bivalent in September, was exposed last Friday, tested negative yesterday.

Ginger Snap Deleted user ⋅ December 09, 2022

🤞🤞🤞🤞🤞🤞

WhatDreamsMayCome December 09, 2022

I’m glad symptoms are minimal.
I hope all returns to normal ASAP.

Ginger Snap WhatDreamsMayCome ⋅ December 09, 2022

Well, the symptoms are pretty bad, but luckily not hospital bad!

Nash December 09, 2022

I had symptoms but never did test positive at least with the antigen tests. No vaccine is a guarantee against getting a disease it just shores up the battlements when the invaders try to take your fort. I get the first of two shingles vaccine shots on Monday.

Perpetually Plump December 10, 2022

Probably my entire floor has gotten COVID since the last round of boosters. It's pretty damn contagious.

Bless your dad's poor heart, crying over your little niece! He sounds like a sweet softie. Glad everyone is doing pretty darn well.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.